Rant in your own damn diary! I dare you to disagree with me Previous rants Current rants

The Random Text Says: ""


White, white, everywhere White!

September 5th, 2001 - 10:32 a.m.

I'm Currently Avoiding:

I've come to the conclusion that I need to update this thing more often. The fact that I'm awake at 11:15 in the morning is just a side-bonus reinforcing the fact that I should update more often. I have other things that I could/should be doing, but this is just more fun. Or something. Sometimes fun doesn't come into the diary entry deal. I have 13 older pages...somehow that either means September is going to be a bad month or that I've been writing in this diary entirely too long. Possibly both. Another month and a half and I'll have done this for a year...good grief. How/why did I do that? That might be something I need to explore in detail later. For now, today & tomorrow...

September 5 is ... Be Late For Something Day (Whee. But what if you're perpetually late for things? Wouldn't that take the specialness out of it?)

September 6 is ... Fight Procrastination Day (Ha. Why does that seem eminently suitable for the day? But I like procrastination way too much to want to fight it!)

Wordssssssssssssssss...

sophistry (n. SAH-fuh-stree)

1 : subtly deceptive reasoning or argumentation

2 : an argument apparently correct in form but actually

invalid; especially : such an argument used to deceive

The original Sophists were ancient Greek teachers of

rhetoric and philosophy prominent in the 5th century B.C. In their heyday, these philosophers were considered adroit in their reasoning, but later philosophers (particularly Plato) described them as sham philosophers, out for money and willing to say anything to win an argument. Thus sophist (which comes from Greek sophistes, meaning wise man or expert) earned a negative connotation as "a captious or fallacious reasoner." Sophistry is reasoning that seems plausible on a superficial level but is actually unsound, or reasoning that is used to deceive.

stellar (adj. STEH-ler)

1 a : of or relating to the stars : astral b : composed

of stars

2 : of or relating to a theatrical or film star

3 a : principal, leading b : outstanding

Stella, the Latin word for star, shines brightly in the word constellation, but stella words have been favored by scientists to describe earthly things as much as heavenly bodies. Stellar was once used to mean star-shaped. That use is no longer current, but today biologists and geologists might use stellular, stellate, and stelliform. Poets, too, have looked to stella. John Milton used stellar in its infancy when he wrote in _Paradise Lost_: "these soft fires shed down their stellar virtue." Stellar shot into its leading role as a synonym of star (as when we say stellar pupil) in the late 1800s.

I'm updating in the middle of the day. That's rather frightning. Then there's the fact that I've completely thrown out the rules and people now here about portions of my life, which I specifiically remember making a rule against. Reality wasn't supposed to interfere after all. But it has, and I'm not sure that's a good thing. I've become a whiny teenybopper...somebody shoot me. Please! Oh wait, I'm not a teenybopper...so I'm just whiny. That might be worse. And Carrottop. Why is he doing commercials? Who let him out of the padded white room? And how'd he get to be popular in the first place, let alone come back to do idiotic commercials?

Speaking of padded white rooms...I think this place I live in might be trying to tell me something. They made "improvements" over the summer while I was away. What did they do precisely? They replaced the curtains...both shower and the ones on the windows. They're both now a shade of white. Previously they were blue and a brown color, respectively. So there is now a heck of a lot of unrelenting white in my room. I think maybe they're trying to drive me insane. No one really wants to look at that much white for an extended length of time. White seems to be a theme. Why does everything have to be WHITE? I don't think white is supposed to be particularly soothing or anything and this isn't the Equator, so things don't have to be white to reflect light, besides, this is Inside, hello? I don't know, I'm going to go do something else now. I've spent enough time on this...the time at the tone will be 11:47 am, which mean's I've done this for about an hour and 15 minutes...more than enough time, even if I wasn't writing all the time in it.



Feeling lucky? Choose an Entry At RANDOM! Yes. Random. Randomosity is cool...come on, you know you want to... Well, if you don't subscribe to peer pressure, then just go Back or Forward with the Dragons below:

Read the Previous Entry by Clicking On This Dragon Read the Next Entry by Clicking On *This* Dragon...I promise they don't bite.

Note: This is just a temporary measure so people can still get to some of these places, until I can do something, like kill HostedScripts.

Read Older Rants / Take the Current Poll / Visit the Polls Page / Sign The *NEW* Message Board

Go to the Lost & Confused Home (there's a home? it's not lost?)
Prev | List | Random | Next Powered by RingSurf!

Join The Cavorting Revolution!

And I like it that way.


ENTER YOUR RANT OR QUESTIONS, FILL IN THE BLANKS, & PRESS SEND
This is another shameless plea for attention & feedback, yes, again.This goes someplace.  Where?  Click it and see.  I thought it was self-explanitory myself.
No idea where this tag is going to show up.Or this one.Look!  Another mystery tag!
This will take you to some directory...again, self-explanitory buttons.
Umm...again, this goes someplace.

Send a Message to Someone Other Than Me Who Has ICQ
Search Something or other hereI have no Idea where This will be.  Great Googaly Moogaly!
What?  Not another one!
This site is powered by the ICQ Web Pager Panel � 1999 ICQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.
I'm going to add some stuff before you get to the fancy stuff they put in here automatically. For anyone who chooses to page me, I will respond to your page via e-mail as soon as possible. However, for faster service, please include your ICQ, MSN Instant Messanger, or AIM number, name, or whatever is appropriate. This will guarantee you faster response, since I'm much better at responding to instant messangers than I am to e-mails. Now you can read all the other stuff that was originally here. You can ICQ-Page the owner of this web page as well as other users right from here with no additional software. Your messagewill be instantly delivered. If the user is online, the message will popup on her screen, if the user is offline it will be stored and forwarded to him/her as soon as she connects to the internet. Installing the ICQ client will enable you to know if your friends are online and communicate directly with them.
Use of the ICQ Web Pager Panel is subject to Terms of Service

More insanity...do you dare? Go on...be a voyeur someplace else Spread the rantings to others...I command it! Become subject to the Voyeuristic tendancies of others