Rant in your own damn diary! I dare you to disagree with me Previous rants Current rants

The Random Text Says: ""


Belated Easter Entry

April 23rd, 2003 - 2:41 a.m.

I'm Currently Avoiding: Noise

I've only updated like 5 times in April. I guess that's not surprising or anything, but I felt like I should mention it. Because maybe if I constantly trumpet my lack of diary entries I'll do something about it. Of course, I've been too busy writing other things to really care about writing here lately, but I'm having an off day and I'm not getting anything constructive done, so I might as well write a diary entry. I guess if you want to get picky, I wrote a paragraph of a story today, but that's seriously pathetic. I'll probably hate it and erase it later, but at the moment it sort of feels like maybe I did something today. And that might be what's important.

So yeah. Not a happy day today, and not for any reason I could understand. Just one of those days where I felt the urge to be randomly unhappy. Blech. Annoying. I hate it when I get like that.

Easter was decent. I think I woke up around 4:30 pm on Saturday and I didn't go to bed until about 4 pm Sunday. Because I'm all about the strange sleeping times. And apparently those sleeping times were enough for my aunt to believe that I need to be on anti-depressants. As if I could afford them. Or as if I haven't had an erratic sleeping schedule for years... Silly auntie, sleep is for fools. Or something.

So anyway, we went to sunrise service (which was at 7:30? or 7 am...one or the other. I can't remember which. I think 7:30. It doesn't really matter), which is always done by the youth group at church. Some years the service has been at 5:30 in the morning. Easiest to go to if I just don't sleep. Anyway, after the service, the youth group always has breakfast of some sort that they prepare and dole out generously. This year it was pancakes, scrambled eggs, and bacon/sausage. I had two pancakes and a little bit of scrambled eggs. I'm not big on bacon or sausage so I skipped that.

After breakfast was finished I sort of just wandered around aimlessly and washed my hands as I waited for it to be time to go practice the song the choir was singing for the regular service that morning. So eventually it was time to practice (my aunt didn't get to practice with us because she had to go home and fetch my Grandfather so he could go to church, but she did sing with us at the service. It was really weird too because she was randomly singing tenor on some parts and that was highly distracting seeing as how she stood right next to me), and we all traipsed downstairs to the basement as we always do to practice on the tiny, tiny keyboard that's very hard to sing to. So we run through the song once, and I'm feeling fairly awake and limber vocally so I go and sing the high note at the very end (it was the G just above the staff, if anybody cares). Because I can do this, everyone in the choir is like, "Oh, you should sing the descant." The soprano descant would be " a superimposed counterpoint to a simple melody sung typically by some or all of the sopranos." In this case, it was supposed to be a solo, which meant me essentially. There's only one other person I know who can sing as high as I can (who was there that week at least...there may be one other person who could've sung it), but she said there was no way she was going to get up that high that early in the morning. So I did it. We went over it a few times, and then I went and sang it. I wasn't nervous until about a page before I was supposed to sing my solo, and then the butterflies suddenly swarmed and were fluttering at triple speed. It was rather distressing. But I sang it, and it was okay. If I screwed any of it up, no one could have told the difference anyway. I was sort of pleased that I did it after it was done.

After church everyone left and we fetched the Sunday paper from town and came home. (Note: because the paper is normally delivered by the mail and we live in the middle of nowhere, on Sundays the paper is left at the post office of the closest town - which is not the same town church is in - and everyone who wants it on Sunday goes and picks it up. Otherwise, the paper is delivered on Monday with the Monday paper and Monday mail.) Then, I was put to work peeling potatoes. Lots and lots of potatoes. 15 to be exact. That was essentially all the potatoes we had in the house. An entire 5 lb. bag, plus a few from the open bag. We didn't peel three really small, extremely wrinkled spuds. They weren't fit for peeling and consumption. I think my aunt peeled maybe 3 of the potatoes and she cut all of them into chunks to make the mashed potatoes. Still...it was a heck of a lot of peeling and my arm was tired afterwards. Then I also got roped into cutting the hardboiled eggs to make deviled eggs (she was going to have me make all of the deviled eggs, but I told her I didn't like them, didn't know how to make them, never intended on either making or serving them, and thus had no desire to learn how one actually made those disgusting things). I've seen some of what goes in there...I know there's mustard in there for instance and I don't like mustard. I'm not even all that keen on eggs by themselves...certainly not hardboiled and cold. Scrambled is all right. But not much else.

So I was forced to cut the eggs in half, but I was not obliged to make the deviled eggs...I managed to avoid having to construct that. Instead, I was forced to cut the long stalks of celery into more manageable celery sticks. Of course, no one would tell me how long the damn things were supposed to be, but I cut them anyway after complaing...while my Mom stood and watched me cut them! She could have cut the stupid celery just as easily. I don't even like celery, I wasn't going to eat what I was cutting. Then, after my aunt had specifically told me to put the celery sticks back into the celery keeper, Mom complained about it! I was annoyed. I was like, "But she told me to do it!" Which probably sounds juvenile and pathetic, but it was really indignent innocence. After a brief argument, the celery sticks went into the container thing, just like they were supposed to. That was when I escaped the kitchen. I hid on the computer until dinner was pretty much ready. The rest of it was pretty uninteresting, so I'll skip it.

I had to go buy a new watch Monday. My old one died...again. I just had the battery replaced a month or two ago, so I knew it couldn't be that. It was just worn out I guess. I must have had it for...at least 6 years, if not more. So it was time for a change. I found a silver one this time. Had to buy an elastic band to replace the leather one because I've recently been taking my watch off just about every time I have to type anything for an extended period of time on my computer, and it would be a real hassle to have that buckle-type clasp to unfasten every time I wanted to take it off. Plus, I'm used to elastic bands and like them better. I just wish they were narrower. Anyway, this new watch is silver and it has the numerical date, which I practically need, and I'm still not used to it looking different like it does, but I'll get over it. I guess I'm pretty happy with it all together.

I'm not terribly happy with the series I've been reading recently though. The "Sholan Alliance" novels by Lisanne Norman are beginning to annoy the heck out of me. Every book she writes (except for the first one) is irritatingly incomplete. She sort of more or less finishes the major obstacle the main characters face, but always ends it at a point where it is abundantly clear that they won't be living in peace and harmony because of some other major crisis. And she's got a zillion characters with weird names so that I can never remember who's who, and the inter-species relationships are never fixed to anyone's satisfaction either. Plus, she keeps jumping around all the time to different characters on completely different planets/points in space. It's really beginning to get on my nerves. All of it combined is not making me a happy reader. And that's not a good thing. Well, this entry should be more than long enough to make up for the fact that I haven't updated very much this month and some of those entries have been incredibly pathetically short. Isn't accomplishing things grand? I'd go to bed now because I've been awake roughly 20 hours, but I have to wait for this damn download to finish. Ciao.



Feeling lucky? Choose an Entry At RANDOM! Yes. Random. Randomosity is cool...come on, you know you want to... Well, if you don't subscribe to peer pressure, then just go Back or Forward with the Dragons below:

Read the Previous Entry by Clicking On This Dragon Read the Next Entry by Clicking On *This* Dragon...I promise they don't bite.

Note: This is just a temporary measure so people can still get to some of these places, until I can do something, like kill HostedScripts.

Read Older Rants / Take the Current Poll / Visit the Polls Page / Sign The *NEW* Message Board

Go to the Lost & Confused Home (there's a home? it's not lost?)
Prev | List | Random | Next Powered by RingSurf!

Join The Cavorting Revolution!

And I like it that way.


ENTER YOUR RANT OR QUESTIONS, FILL IN THE BLANKS, & PRESS SEND
This is another shameless plea for attention & feedback, yes, again.This goes someplace.  Where?  Click it and see.  I thought it was self-explanitory myself.
No idea where this tag is going to show up.Or this one.Look!  Another mystery tag!
This will take you to some directory...again, self-explanitory buttons.
Umm...again, this goes someplace.

Send a Message to Someone Other Than Me Who Has ICQ
Search Something or other hereI have no Idea where This will be.  Great Googaly Moogaly!
What?  Not another one!
This site is powered by the ICQ Web Pager Panel � 1999 ICQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.
I'm going to add some stuff before you get to the fancy stuff they put in here automatically. For anyone who chooses to page me, I will respond to your page via e-mail as soon as possible. However, for faster service, please include your ICQ, MSN Instant Messanger, or AIM number, name, or whatever is appropriate. This will guarantee you faster response, since I'm much better at responding to instant messangers than I am to e-mails. Now you can read all the other stuff that was originally here. You can ICQ-Page the owner of this web page as well as other users right from here with no additional software. Your messagewill be instantly delivered. If the user is online, the message will popup on her screen, if the user is offline it will be stored and forwarded to him/her as soon as she connects to the internet. Installing the ICQ client will enable you to know if your friends are online and communicate directly with them.
Use of the ICQ Web Pager Panel is subject to Terms of Service

More insanity...do you dare? Go on...be a voyeur someplace else Spread the rantings to others...I command it! Become subject to the Voyeuristic tendancies of others