Rant in your own damn diary! I dare you to disagree with me Previous rants Current rants

The Random Text Says: ""


My Computer Is Making Me Unhappy....Again

October 5th, 2002 - 4:09 a.m.

I'm Currently Avoiding:

I haven't updated in like a bajillion days now and I suppose it's time that I rectify that situation. (Actually, it's been five and there have been longer stretches of time of me not updating and a bajillion is quite a bit of an exaggeration since I won't even live that long, but you can just stick the label of artistic license on it and ignore it.) I don't really feel like I have a lot to say about anything really, but I'll write a short little something anyway.

Have I ranted yet about how absolutely intolerable that Old Navy commercial for painter pants is? You know, the one where Morgan Fairchild pretends to be Eva Gabor and some strapping young man with big muscles pretends to be Oliver Wendell Douglas (who originally had white hair, was skinny, and at least in his mid-40's) and they make a mockery of the brilliance that was Green Acres. That commercial drives me up the wall. Every time I start to hear it I get the urge to scream obscenities at the tiny people on the screen. I think maybe there's just something about Morgan Fairchild that seriously gets on my nerves. She's not quite as bad as Martha Stewart though. Martha Stewart makes me want to do more drastic things. But enough of that.

As for why I don't really have anything to say, it has everything to do with my life being boring. Oh, I guess there are a few things. Buffy this week...I don't know what to think about it. I'm rather ambivalent. It didn't seem that good to me, but it wasn't horrible either. It was kind of mediocre, but it furthered the eventual plot a bit more and Willow will make an appearance next week, so I'm happy. The season premiere of Angel is this Sunday and I always have a hard time remembering that Angel's on Sunday nights now so I hope I don't miss it. Hopefully that'll be good since I don't know how they're going to get them out of where they were at the end of the last season. So I have high hopes for that show...here's to hoping that they aren't dashed.

I saw The Queen of the Damned the other night sort of by accident. Boy does that movie suck (and not in a remotely good way). There isn't really any plot to speak of for the whole film. They made the mistake of skipping over the second book of Anne Rice's series entirely and tried to insert bits and pieces of The Vampire Lestat into the Queen of the Damned at random to fill stuff in. It was a really lousy movie. The title character was only in the movie for maybe 20 minutes and then bam! she was dead. It just wasn't fun at all. And highly disappointing because there are so many better ways which that movie *could* have gone in theory but didn't. Too bad. Yet another book ruined by the Hollywood adaptation.

I adore my new cell phone. It makes me happy. The other week (I don't know, did I mention this already? I guess not) I went downtown and went to the Verizon Wireless store. There I bought a new cell phone and accompanying cell phone plan to replace the hated phone and plan from AT&T I'd been living with. A week or two later, I remain very pleased with my phone and service. Of course, I have yet to see if I really don't pay roaming in SD like I'm not supposed to, but other than that, I am very happy. I find myself particularly enamored with the voice dialing feature where you can set it up so that people in your phone book are dialed with only their name being said. It's a very nifty feature and for that alone I would be happy with my phone. Luckily, it comes with other things to make me happy and the people on the other end of my conversations never have a problem hearing me, so I'm pretty freaking ecstatic.

On to matters which are less giddiness-enducing. My A: drive of my computer (the 3.5" disk drive for those who have funny-lettered drives) is driving me absolutely bonkers and I don't know what to do with it. When I put a disk in and then try to open a file on it, the computer gives me this annoying message that says that the A drive is not accessible and then something about an error reading the drive because it wasn't ready. So now I don't know what to do with it. Of course, it makes perfect sense to me that the one evening I have an urge to work on my story which I do strictly for fun, my computer makes it impossible for me to work on it because I can't access the bloody file. So now I have to go to the Computer Store tomorrow and see what they have to say for suggestions there. It might end up cheaper to just buy an external floppy disk thingymabobber than to pay for parts and labor to fix the one that's internal to my computer. Stupid thing. Of course, that'll mean that I won't be able to run any two USB devices (like the drive and my digital camera for instance) at the same time, but I'll live. I don't need to attach my digital camera to my computer all that often anyway. And I was going to make a little button in support of Marn and her Cavorting Day, but the button thing I have is being a pain in the butt and only does buttons in Java and Flash, which doesn't make my life easier. Urgh. Well, I think this diary entry is long enough now and I'll go pour out my woes another day. Besides, it's nearly 5:30 in the morning. I need to go to bed or something.

All in all, it wasn't too bad of an entry for the first entry of October.



Feeling lucky? Choose an Entry At RANDOM! Yes. Random. Randomosity is cool...come on, you know you want to... Well, if you don't subscribe to peer pressure, then just go Back or Forward with the Dragons below:

Read the Previous Entry by Clicking On This Dragon Read the Next Entry by Clicking On *This* Dragon...I promise they don't bite.

Note: This is just a temporary measure so people can still get to some of these places, until I can do something, like kill HostedScripts.

Read Older Rants / Take the Current Poll / Visit the Polls Page / Sign The *NEW* Message Board

Go to the Lost & Confused Home (there's a home? it's not lost?)
Prev | List | Random | Next Powered by RingSurf!

Join The Cavorting Revolution!

And I like it that way.


ENTER YOUR RANT OR QUESTIONS, FILL IN THE BLANKS, & PRESS SEND
This is another shameless plea for attention & feedback, yes, again.This goes someplace.  Where?  Click it and see.  I thought it was self-explanitory myself.
No idea where this tag is going to show up.Or this one.Look!  Another mystery tag!
This will take you to some directory...again, self-explanitory buttons.
Umm...again, this goes someplace.

Send a Message to Someone Other Than Me Who Has ICQ
Search Something or other hereI have no Idea where This will be.  Great Googaly Moogaly!
What?  Not another one!
This site is powered by the ICQ Web Pager Panel � 1999 ICQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.
I'm going to add some stuff before you get to the fancy stuff they put in here automatically. For anyone who chooses to page me, I will respond to your page via e-mail as soon as possible. However, for faster service, please include your ICQ, MSN Instant Messanger, or AIM number, name, or whatever is appropriate. This will guarantee you faster response, since I'm much better at responding to instant messangers than I am to e-mails. Now you can read all the other stuff that was originally here. You can ICQ-Page the owner of this web page as well as other users right from here with no additional software. Your messagewill be instantly delivered. If the user is online, the message will popup on her screen, if the user is offline it will be stored and forwarded to him/her as soon as she connects to the internet. Installing the ICQ client will enable you to know if your friends are online and communicate directly with them.
Use of the ICQ Web Pager Panel is subject to Terms of Service

More insanity...do you dare? Go on...be a voyeur someplace else Spread the rantings to others...I command it! Become subject to the Voyeuristic tendancies of others