Rant in your own damn diary! I dare you to disagree with me Previous rants Current rants

The Random Text Says: ""


Tremors? I Didn't Feel Anything.

April 14th, 2002 - 6:05 a.m.

I'm Currently Avoiding:

Enh. Let's update again. Why the heck not? I mean, it's been a day or so since I last did it, so I don't know what I really mean when I say again but that's okay and I'll do it anyway. Sitting in front of this computer seems to induce some weird quiescent state in my head and body a lot of the time. It seems like I just sit here and stare at the screen and suddenly it's hours later and I don't feel as if I've really done anything. It's rather disturbing. It doesn't happen all the time, sometimes when I sit in front of the computer I actually accomplish things, but it seems that the spaced-out option occurs more often. I don't think I care for that. I don't really understand it either. Maybe it has something to do with the internet. Blame everything on the internet...why not, other people do.

Oh. I could talk about Spring Fling, but I found it boring, so I guess I won't. I didn't even go to the free pankcake "breakfast" like I did last year. I was too lazy to leave the house again. Can you really call it a pancake breakfast when it runs from midnight to 3 am? What do you call it instead? A Pancake Midnight Snack? There really isn't a word for a meal that's after dinner, before 6 am, and isn't at midnight. I guess, like always, they just didn't think they needed a word for it because people aren't awake then. Damn people and their diurnal prejudices.

So, what did I really want to talk about? Tremors 3, that's what. Yes, there is another movie in the illustrious Tremors storyline now. It was on the Sci-fi channel just last night. Twice even. I guess it was okay. It was sort of...I don't know, I can't describe why Tremors 3 vaguely annoyed me. There's just something illusive about it that I didn't care for. Amazingly enough, there's actually one person from the original movie in both of the movies that followed it. Of course, having the continuity resting on the shoulders of a character that's paranoid and gun-crazy might not have been the best choice, but they couldn't get Kevin Bacon to do any of the other movies. Reba McEntire, who was the crazy guy's wife in the first one, I believe divorced him in the second one...I'm not even sure if she needed to make an appearance for that. It was rather nice to see quite a few of the people from the original movie make it back for the third one. I think the subtitle for this one was "Return to Perfection" or some such thing. There was a sense of closure almost about the movie that I liked. I doubt that there'll be a fourth Tremors movie, but that's okay. I'm surprised they were able to get three out of that movie in the first place. I guess I have an odd sort of fondness for the original film though, so maybe other people feel the same way and that's how they managed to get more films out of it. I don't know. If anything, I think I'm surprised by the lack of deaths in the film. I mean, sure, there were a few people who died, and the monsters certainly died (all except 1 that is), but the deaths weren't really all that gory. I think only one human death was shown on screen and that was rather unceremonious and nearly bloodless. No, wait, I guess there were two. There was a guy who was knocked off the cliff, but they didn't show the fall or impact of his body, just his somewhat-bloody corpse when they went down to check on him. Anyway, I'm not sure if I was pleased or not by the lack of gore in the film. I guess it's nice to have one where blood isn't being flung around like it was water every once in awhile. Too many films these days rely on blood and gore to carry the suspense/horror factor with the audience. Frankly I'm a bit tired of it.

My ceiling is leaking again. I still don't know how it manages to drip water. I don't think there could possibly be a tub underneath that spot from what I remember of the room models. I also live on the first floor, with three other floors above me, so it can't be rain leaking from the roof or anything. Besides, it hasn't even rained that much lately. I'd call maintenance to come take a look at it, but I really don't see the point. I mean, it normally stops dripping after a few days anyway. And the last time I called them to come look at my ceiling they came two months after I called them. Of course, it wasn't dripping by that time anymore, so they didn't even bother to look at the dumb thing and just left. Asses.

quiescent (adj. kwye-EH-sunt or kwee-EH-sunt)

1 : marked by inactivity or repose : tranquilly at rest

2 : causing no trouble or symptoms

Quiescent won't cause you any pain, and neither will its synonyms, latent, dormant, and potential, at least not immediately. All four words mean not now showing signs of activity or existence. Latent usually applies to something that is present but hasn't yet fully come forth, as in a latent desire for success. Dormant implies a state of inactivity similar to sleep, as in passions that have lain dormant. Potential applies to what may or may not come to be. A potential disaster is a typical example. Quiescent, which traces to the Latin quiescere (meaning to become quiet or to rest), often suggests a temporary cessation of activity, as in a quiescent disease or a summer resort quiescent in wintertime.

Target commercials are rather frightening. Or maybe I just have an aversion to that particular shade of orange. I really hate late night/early morning television. Enh. Time to go now. Half an hour spent on this is more than enough time at the moment. I think I'm going to read some for class and then go to bed. Bed is nice. I miss my bed.



Feeling lucky? Choose an Entry At RANDOM! Yes. Random. Randomosity is cool...come on, you know you want to... Well, if you don't subscribe to peer pressure, then just go Back or Forward with the Dragons below:

Read the Previous Entry by Clicking On This Dragon Read the Next Entry by Clicking On *This* Dragon...I promise they don't bite.

Note: This is just a temporary measure so people can still get to some of these places, until I can do something, like kill HostedScripts.

Read Older Rants / Take the Current Poll / Visit the Polls Page / Sign The *NEW* Message Board

Go to the Lost & Confused Home (there's a home? it's not lost?)
Prev | List | Random | Next Powered by RingSurf!

Join The Cavorting Revolution!

And I like it that way.


ENTER YOUR RANT OR QUESTIONS, FILL IN THE BLANKS, & PRESS SEND
This is another shameless plea for attention & feedback, yes, again.This goes someplace.  Where?  Click it and see.  I thought it was self-explanitory myself.
No idea where this tag is going to show up.Or this one.Look!  Another mystery tag!
This will take you to some directory...again, self-explanitory buttons.
Umm...again, this goes someplace.

Send a Message to Someone Other Than Me Who Has ICQ
Search Something or other hereI have no Idea where This will be.  Great Googaly Moogaly!
What?  Not another one!
This site is powered by the ICQ Web Pager Panel � 1999 ICQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.
I'm going to add some stuff before you get to the fancy stuff they put in here automatically. For anyone who chooses to page me, I will respond to your page via e-mail as soon as possible. However, for faster service, please include your ICQ, MSN Instant Messanger, or AIM number, name, or whatever is appropriate. This will guarantee you faster response, since I'm much better at responding to instant messangers than I am to e-mails. Now you can read all the other stuff that was originally here. You can ICQ-Page the owner of this web page as well as other users right from here with no additional software. Your messagewill be instantly delivered. If the user is online, the message will popup on her screen, if the user is offline it will be stored and forwarded to him/her as soon as she connects to the internet. Installing the ICQ client will enable you to know if your friends are online and communicate directly with them.
Use of the ICQ Web Pager Panel is subject to Terms of Service

More insanity...do you dare? Go on...be a voyeur someplace else Spread the rantings to others...I command it! Become subject to the Voyeuristic tendancies of others