Rant in your own damn diary! I dare you to disagree with me Previous rants Current rants

The Random Text Says: ""


Odd Antipathy Toward The Diary

January 25th, 2002 - 1:46 a.m.

I'm Currently Avoiding:

I think I'm going nuts. Or something. I should really stop being so completely and totally ambivalent to this diary. I mean, it might get offended or something if I don't pay attention. Of course, I've sort of neglected it for roughly an hour and 45 minutes already. And that's not even counting the time earlier I neglected it before my computer froze and I was obliged to shut it off and turn it back on. I swear, I'm never buying a Compaq laptop again. Next time I'm going to get a Sony Vaio or something. Although, to be honest, I was probably asking too much of the poor thing. There was another word of the day here, but it got eaten when my computer froze and I'm not sure if I can retrieve it. I'm certainly not going to go to the trouble of *trying* to retrieve it. It was only a word after all. I've been doing all sorts of somewhat interesting things lately. Well, creatively interesting or something I suppose. I updated my webpage twice this week (just little things, but updates nonetheless). Additionally, I finished Ch. 9 of my story and I've written about 1/2 a page of Ch. 10. I know this might seem like paltry things to you, but to me, they're really quite remarkable. I haven't written this much for fun in quite awhile. And I'm actually doing stuff with the website which is also really strange. Normally I ignore it for ages at a time. Maybe it's just a sign of my boredom. Well, I'm going to lunch tomorrow afternoon so I'd better go to bed now. I have to be awake in 6 or 7 hours.

The Ascetics of Something or Other

ascetic (adj. uh-SEH-tik)

1 : practicing strict self-denial as a measure of personal and especially spiritual discipline

2 : austere in appearance, manner, or attitude

Ascetic comes from asketikos, a Greek adjective meaning laborious. Ultimately, it comes from the Greek verb askein, which means exercise or work. There aren't many other English words from askein, but there's no dearth of synonyms for ascetic. Severe and austere, for example, are two words that share with ascetic the basic meaning given to or marked by strict discipline and firm restraint. Ascetic implies abstention from pleasure and comfort or self-indulgence as spiritual discipline, whereas severe implies standards enforced without indulgence or laxity and may suggest harshness (as in severe military discipline). Austere stresses absence of warmth, color, or feeling and may apply to rigorous restraint, simplicity, or self-denial (as in living an austere life in the country).



Feeling lucky? Choose an Entry At RANDOM! Yes. Random. Randomosity is cool...come on, you know you want to... Well, if you don't subscribe to peer pressure, then just go Back or Forward with the Dragons below:

Read the Previous Entry by Clicking On This Dragon Read the Next Entry by Clicking On *This* Dragon...I promise they don't bite.

Note: This is just a temporary measure so people can still get to some of these places, until I can do something, like kill HostedScripts.

Read Older Rants / Take the Current Poll / Visit the Polls Page / Sign The *NEW* Message Board

Go to the Lost & Confused Home (there's a home? it's not lost?)
Prev | List | Random | Next Powered by RingSurf!

Join The Cavorting Revolution!

And I like it that way.


ENTER YOUR RANT OR QUESTIONS, FILL IN THE BLANKS, & PRESS SEND
This is another shameless plea for attention & feedback, yes, again.This goes someplace.  Where?  Click it and see.  I thought it was self-explanitory myself.
No idea where this tag is going to show up.Or this one.Look!  Another mystery tag!
This will take you to some directory...again, self-explanitory buttons.
Umm...again, this goes someplace.

Send a Message to Someone Other Than Me Who Has ICQ
Search Something or other hereI have no Idea where This will be.  Great Googaly Moogaly!
What?  Not another one!
This site is powered by the ICQ Web Pager Panel � 1999 ICQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.
I'm going to add some stuff before you get to the fancy stuff they put in here automatically. For anyone who chooses to page me, I will respond to your page via e-mail as soon as possible. However, for faster service, please include your ICQ, MSN Instant Messanger, or AIM number, name, or whatever is appropriate. This will guarantee you faster response, since I'm much better at responding to instant messangers than I am to e-mails. Now you can read all the other stuff that was originally here. You can ICQ-Page the owner of this web page as well as other users right from here with no additional software. Your messagewill be instantly delivered. If the user is online, the message will popup on her screen, if the user is offline it will be stored and forwarded to him/her as soon as she connects to the internet. Installing the ICQ client will enable you to know if your friends are online and communicate directly with them.
Use of the ICQ Web Pager Panel is subject to Terms of Service

More insanity...do you dare? Go on...be a voyeur someplace else Spread the rantings to others...I command it! Become subject to the Voyeuristic tendancies of others