Rant in your own damn diary! I dare you to disagree with me Previous rants Current rants

The Random Text Says: ""


Anybody Want To Write A Screenplay?

October 5th, 2001 - 4:35 a.m.

I'm Currently Avoiding:

La la, la la la la, la la la la la....*stops singing Smurf theme* Oh! What do you want? Can't you see I'm busy going insane here? Shoo! Shoo! Oh, well, if you insist on staying, then I might as well write something here for you to read. Yesterday doesn't get the privilege of being placed up here...I don't like golf, and we shan't be celebrating it. Besides, that's so yesterday. And today,

October 5 is ..... National Storytelling Festival (And this one time, at band camp...)

Oh Look, Words! Quelle surprise!

foursquare (adj. FOR-SKWAIR)

1 : square

2 : marked by boldness and conviction : forthright

You probably won't be too surprised to learn that foursquare was formed in Middle English by combining four (or foure) and square. Equally unsurprising is the fact that, in the beginning, the term simply described things that had four sides forming a square. (It was once also possible to refer to a foursquare, or a square, but this use is now mostly obsolete.) Eventually, foursquare developed a second sense which is used to describe persons and things that stand out squarely and forthrightly. One can now speak of four-square citizens and a foursquare response. Foursquare can also be an adverb meaning solidly or forthrightly.

testimonial (n. tess-tuh-MOH-nee-ul)

1 : evidence, testimony

2 a : a statement testifying to benefits received b : a character reference : letter of recommendation

3 : an expression of appreciation : tribute

In 1639, Scottish poet William Drummond responded to the political scene of his day by writing a facetious set of new laws, among them that "no man wear a . . . periwig, unless he have a testimonial from a town-clerk, that he is either bald, sickly, or asham'd of white hairs." Testimonials take different forms, but always, like Drummond's recommended document, they provide affirmation or evidence. (Our word traces to Latin testimonium, meaning evidence, witness.) In the 19th century, public tribute for service rendered became the newest version of a testimonial. Then, it was likely to be a statue or portrait; in the 20th century, we came up with testimonial dinners. Testimonials (usually solicited) that endorse products or services are also a 20th-century phenomenon.

Four-square? Isn't that that game I used to play in elementary school with the red rubber ball and those lines painted into a square on the blacktop? Does anybody have the slightest idea what I'm talking about and what that game was called if not four-square?

So the whole original point (as much as these entries ever have a point anyway) for this particular entry was so I could share this thought I had in my mind earlier. Well, two thoughts actually. The first thought came on the way to class, the second, which is more of an idea really, came while I was in class. And I decided to share the strange way my mind works. Not that that point hasn't been amply demonstrated already in previous entries, but I might as well belabor the point until its dead. Or maybe even until it comes back to life from the dead and becomes the undead. That works too. So, on my way to class, this woman on a bicycle (not an unusual sight) in a bicycle helmet is riding towards me, then veers off to the right of me to park her bike. All I could think of when I looked at her was how completely ugly that bicycle helmet made her. It made her look like someone from those Alien Nation shows or something. Maybe Coneheads? Anyway, it made me wonder why bike helmets only succeed in giving you helmet hair and making you look like some reject from a bad outer-space movie, but motorcycle helmets make a person look cool and mysterious. What's up with that? Why can't bicyclers be cool too? They should rebell or something.

My other thought...Anybody want to write a screenplay for me? I ended up with this movie idea in my head due to a combination of having to watch some version of "Dr. Jekyll & Mr. Hyde" from sometime in the 1930's, and the fact that I had to read that book for a different class a year or so ago. I asked the teacher, he said no one'd done anything like it that he knew of, so that means my take on it is original damnit! Anyway, the whole poing is Dr. Jekyll's crazy, split-personality type deal, so the "potion" he takes doesn't really do anything for him, other than letting his alter ego free. His alter ego then proceeds to physically change his appearance through various means available before doing the things that happened in the book. And there should only be one woman in this version damnit! That whole, taking liberties with the book by adding characters that don't exist kind of annoys me. So this whole screenplay is really Jekyll's descent further and further into homicidal insanity. Criminal insanity? Whatever. Anyway, I think it's a good idea, but can I write horror? Not to save my life. So, that brings me back to my original question...Anybody want to write a screenplay for me?

Songs of the Day: "Sympathy for the Devil" by the Rolling Stones & "Old Time Rock 'n Roll" by...Bob Seager? Because they were on the radio earlier. Why else is anything ever the song of the day?



Feeling lucky? Choose an Entry At RANDOM! Yes. Random. Randomosity is cool...come on, you know you want to... Well, if you don't subscribe to peer pressure, then just go Back or Forward with the Dragons below:

Read the Previous Entry by Clicking On This Dragon Read the Next Entry by Clicking On *This* Dragon...I promise they don't bite.

Note: This is just a temporary measure so people can still get to some of these places, until I can do something, like kill HostedScripts.

Read Older Rants / Take the Current Poll / Visit the Polls Page / Sign The *NEW* Message Board

Go to the Lost & Confused Home (there's a home? it's not lost?)
Prev | List | Random | Next Powered by RingSurf!

Join The Cavorting Revolution!

And I like it that way.


ENTER YOUR RANT OR QUESTIONS, FILL IN THE BLANKS, & PRESS SEND
This is another shameless plea for attention & feedback, yes, again.This goes someplace.  Where?  Click it and see.  I thought it was self-explanitory myself.
No idea where this tag is going to show up.Or this one.Look!  Another mystery tag!
This will take you to some directory...again, self-explanitory buttons.
Umm...again, this goes someplace.

Send a Message to Someone Other Than Me Who Has ICQ
Search Something or other hereI have no Idea where This will be.  Great Googaly Moogaly!
What?  Not another one!
This site is powered by the ICQ Web Pager Panel � 1999 ICQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.
I'm going to add some stuff before you get to the fancy stuff they put in here automatically. For anyone who chooses to page me, I will respond to your page via e-mail as soon as possible. However, for faster service, please include your ICQ, MSN Instant Messanger, or AIM number, name, or whatever is appropriate. This will guarantee you faster response, since I'm much better at responding to instant messangers than I am to e-mails. Now you can read all the other stuff that was originally here. You can ICQ-Page the owner of this web page as well as other users right from here with no additional software. Your messagewill be instantly delivered. If the user is online, the message will popup on her screen, if the user is offline it will be stored and forwarded to him/her as soon as she connects to the internet. Installing the ICQ client will enable you to know if your friends are online and communicate directly with them.
Use of the ICQ Web Pager Panel is subject to Terms of Service

More insanity...do you dare? Go on...be a voyeur someplace else Spread the rantings to others...I command it! Become subject to the Voyeuristic tendancies of others