Rant in your own damn diary! I dare you to disagree with me Previous rants Current rants

The Random Text Says: ""


Things Suck

September 8th, 2001 - 3:56 p.m.

I'm Currently Avoiding:

Bureaucracies suck.

Correction: bureaucracies, computers, and sleep suck. Or maybe it's just being tired. Being tired sucks too. A lot of things suck. Including the tendency of this space bar to not work all the time, which leads me to using the backspace key more often than I'd like. Pyramids should always give off an eldritch blue glow after sunset. That has nothing to do with anything I've said previously, but non sequitors are fun and if you don't like it you can just go away.

Laughing in a computer lab makes other people stare at you as if you're insane. Yet another reason why computers suck. Also, another reason why I'd like my laptop back...b/c then I could laugh myself silly without any strange looks or having to wear acceptable clothing. Can't exactly play on the computer in my nightclothes. There are other reasons for me to miss my laptop as well. Hopefully I should have it back by a week from Tuesday. If not, I plan to go stark raving mad and run around with a cardboard helmet on pretending to be Ms. Monitor and making computer noises. I don't think I did yesterday, so yesterday, today, & tomorrow...

September 7 is ... Neither Rain Nor Snow Day (Umm...isn't this part of the Post Office Motto? Or was that Pony Express? Anyway, what's it doing here and why are they celebrating the motto? Why don't they just call it "post office appreciation day" or something? It can be a literal day, I'm sure you'd be able to find *somewhere* that had either rain or snow on that particular day.)

September 8 is ... National Date Nut Bread Day and Pardon Day (Pardon Date Nut Bread? What was it in prison for in the first place? I mean, what exactly could date nut bread do that would result in food being tried and convicted by either a judge or a jury?)

September 9 is ... Teddy Bear Day (Awww...)

La la la...

lampoon (v. lam-POON)

: to make the subject of a lampoon : ridicule

Lampoon can be a noun or a verb. The noun lampoon (meaning satire, or specifically "a harsh satire usually directed against an individual") was first used in English in 1645. The verb followed about a decade later. The words come from the French lampon, and probably originated with lampons, the first person plural imperative of lamper (to guzzle). Lampons! (meaning Let us guzzle!) was a frequent refrain in 17th-century French satirical poems.

verbiage (n. VER-bee-ij)

1 : a profusion of words usually of little or obscure content

2 : manner of expressing oneself in words : diction

Verbiage descends from Middle French verbier (to chatter), itself an offspring of Latin verbum (word). The usual sense of the word implies an overabundance of possibly unnecessary words. It is similar to wordiness, except that it stresses the superfluous words themselves more than the quality that produces them. In other words, a writer with a fondness for verbiage might be accused of wordiness. Some people think the phrase excess verbiage is redundant, but that's not necessarily true. In the early 19th century, verbiage developed a second sense meaning, simply, wording, with no suggestion of excess. This second definition has sometimes been treated as an error by people who insist that verbiage must always imply excessiveness, but that sense is well-established and can be considered standard.

Verbiage! That would be...oh, just about the entirety of this diary. Well, the first definition anyway. That might be the definition of *all* diaries actually. Something to think about. I never did explain the whole bureaucracy thing, did I? Do I want to? I don't know...I *do* have a barbeque to be going to. In fact, it's started already. Decisions, decisions. I take too long to write one of these things. Oh, bureaucracies suck because they're hard to spell and b/c I spent nearly 2 hours waiting to see someone, only to discover that the piece of paper informing others that I wished to be seen had been lost in a bunch of other papers the whole time and that my wait had been incredibly futile. Yay. Screw barbeques...socializing is over-rated anyway.

And being tired sucks too. It makes me sleep and wake up at strange times. I woke up at before 8 am two days in a row! I could've done it today too, if I hadn't refused out of hand do do such a silly thing. It's Saturday!!! Strange things have happened to my night-owl wakefullness. I think I should blame it on something. What, I don't know. I don't think jet-lag would still apply, if it ever did. Maybe I'll go to McDonald's or something soon. All this thinking is making me hungry.



Feeling lucky? Choose an Entry At RANDOM! Yes. Random. Randomosity is cool...come on, you know you want to... Well, if you don't subscribe to peer pressure, then just go Back or Forward with the Dragons below:

Read the Previous Entry by Clicking On This Dragon Read the Next Entry by Clicking On *This* Dragon...I promise they don't bite.

Note: This is just a temporary measure so people can still get to some of these places, until I can do something, like kill HostedScripts.

Read Older Rants / Take the Current Poll / Visit the Polls Page / Sign The *NEW* Message Board

Go to the Lost & Confused Home (there's a home? it's not lost?)
Prev | List | Random | Next Powered by RingSurf!

Join The Cavorting Revolution!

And I like it that way.


ENTER YOUR RANT OR QUESTIONS, FILL IN THE BLANKS, & PRESS SEND
This is another shameless plea for attention & feedback, yes, again.This goes someplace.  Where?  Click it and see.  I thought it was self-explanitory myself.
No idea where this tag is going to show up.Or this one.Look!  Another mystery tag!
This will take you to some directory...again, self-explanitory buttons.
Umm...again, this goes someplace.

Send a Message to Someone Other Than Me Who Has ICQ
Search Something or other hereI have no Idea where This will be.  Great Googaly Moogaly!
What?  Not another one!
This site is powered by the ICQ Web Pager Panel � 1999 ICQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.
I'm going to add some stuff before you get to the fancy stuff they put in here automatically. For anyone who chooses to page me, I will respond to your page via e-mail as soon as possible. However, for faster service, please include your ICQ, MSN Instant Messanger, or AIM number, name, or whatever is appropriate. This will guarantee you faster response, since I'm much better at responding to instant messangers than I am to e-mails. Now you can read all the other stuff that was originally here. You can ICQ-Page the owner of this web page as well as other users right from here with no additional software. Your messagewill be instantly delivered. If the user is online, the message will popup on her screen, if the user is offline it will be stored and forwarded to him/her as soon as she connects to the internet. Installing the ICQ client will enable you to know if your friends are online and communicate directly with them.
Use of the ICQ Web Pager Panel is subject to Terms of Service

More insanity...do you dare? Go on...be a voyeur someplace else Spread the rantings to others...I command it! Become subject to the Voyeuristic tendancies of others