Rant in your own damn diary! I dare you to disagree with me Previous rants Current rants

The Random Text Says: ""


I'm Obsessed With Something Else, Now Go Away.

April 29th, 2001 - 3:35 a.m.

I'm Currently Avoiding:

I'm not real sure how much I want to write in this thing. It is nearly 3:15 am already after all. I do know for a fact that I don't want to write this in the diaryland page where you fill in the entry b/c I tried that already and less than 2 sentences into the entry and it'd been erased already. Oh well, today,

April 29 is ....... National Shrimp Scampi Day (Whee...I don't think that's too bad. Of course, it's been awhile since I've had it, so I could be wrong.)

Something

palimpsest (n. Llamas!)

1 : writing material (as a parchment or tablet) used one or more times after earlier writing has been erased

2 : something having usually diverse layers or aspects apparent beneath the surface

In olden days, writing surfaces were so rare that they were often used more than once. Palimpsest originally described an early form of recycling in which an old document was erased to make room for a new one when parchment ran short. Fortunately for modern scholars, erasing technology wasn't completely effective, so the original could often be distinguished under the newer writing. _De republica_, by Roman statesman and orator Cicero, is one of many documents thus recovered from a palimpsest.

exponent (n. Blah.)

1 : a symbol written above and to the right of a mathematical expression to indicate the operation of raising to a power

2 a : one that expounds or interprets b : one that champions, practices, or exemplifies

You probably won't be surprised to learn that exponent shares an ancestor with proponent -- and indeed, the Latin ponere (to put) is at the root of both terms. Exponent descends from exponere (to explain, expound, set forth), which joins ponere with ex- (out). Proponent traces to proponere (to display, declare), from ponere and pro- (before). Proponent can describe someone who offers a proposal (it's related to propose, which also ultimately comes from proponere), but today it usually means one who argues in favor of something. Exponent can also refer to someone who is an advocate, but it tends to refer especially to someone who stands out as a shining representative of something, and in addition it has retained its earlier meaning of one who expounds.

I'd make this a long entry, but I have become absorbed in readingBuffy/Angel FanFiction, courtesy of some person from the Netherlands who found me searching for this. I've basically been reading this stuff for about 12 hours now. Gee, am I obsessed much? Oh well, guess this will be a short one then.

In other, more disturbing news, someone found me looking for this, and not only did they find me, but I'm on the first page. That scares me, especially considering that the pertinent part was ranting about how I despise those things and how bad they are together. Oh well. I guess that's the trouble with a diary and google. When you mention something which offends you or anything like that and you have to give examples specifically and such, then you end up disseminating the information to the world about the thing you despise. The Catholic church tried something like that once too. They'd write diatribes against such and such a book for being "heretical" and they'd put most, if not all of the original book they were writing against in with the diatribe and that just ended up allowing many more people to read the stuff that the Catholic church was unhappy with. Oopsy.

And finally, I came across this diary today. I honestly don't remember if her writing is any good or not, I only read an entry or two, and that was before the 12 hours of Buffy/Angel stuff, so you can't expect me to remember these things, but she rocks. Why, you ask? Because she has a picture of She-Ra on her diary page. This just makes her the coolest person at the moment. She-Ra kicked ass. I remember that from when I was little. Now I'm going to go back to my fanfiction. Bye!



Feeling lucky? Choose an Entry At RANDOM! Yes. Random. Randomosity is cool...come on, you know you want to... Well, if you don't subscribe to peer pressure, then just go Back or Forward with the Dragons below:

Read the Previous Entry by Clicking On This Dragon Read the Next Entry by Clicking On *This* Dragon...I promise they don't bite.

Note: This is just a temporary measure so people can still get to some of these places, until I can do something, like kill HostedScripts.

Read Older Rants / Take the Current Poll / Visit the Polls Page / Sign The *NEW* Message Board

Go to the Lost & Confused Home (there's a home? it's not lost?)
Prev | List | Random | Next Powered by RingSurf!

Join The Cavorting Revolution!

And I like it that way.


ENTER YOUR RANT OR QUESTIONS, FILL IN THE BLANKS, & PRESS SEND
This is another shameless plea for attention & feedback, yes, again.This goes someplace.  Where?  Click it and see.  I thought it was self-explanitory myself.
No idea where this tag is going to show up.Or this one.Look!  Another mystery tag!
This will take you to some directory...again, self-explanitory buttons.
Umm...again, this goes someplace.

Send a Message to Someone Other Than Me Who Has ICQ
Search Something or other hereI have no Idea where This will be.  Great Googaly Moogaly!
What?  Not another one!
This site is powered by the ICQ Web Pager Panel � 1999 ICQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.
I'm going to add some stuff before you get to the fancy stuff they put in here automatically. For anyone who chooses to page me, I will respond to your page via e-mail as soon as possible. However, for faster service, please include your ICQ, MSN Instant Messanger, or AIM number, name, or whatever is appropriate. This will guarantee you faster response, since I'm much better at responding to instant messangers than I am to e-mails. Now you can read all the other stuff that was originally here. You can ICQ-Page the owner of this web page as well as other users right from here with no additional software. Your messagewill be instantly delivered. If the user is online, the message will popup on her screen, if the user is offline it will be stored and forwarded to him/her as soon as she connects to the internet. Installing the ICQ client will enable you to know if your friends are online and communicate directly with them.
Use of the ICQ Web Pager Panel is subject to Terms of Service

More insanity...do you dare? Go on...be a voyeur someplace else Spread the rantings to others...I command it! Become subject to the Voyeuristic tendancies of others