Rant in your own damn diary! I dare you to disagree with me Previous rants Current rants

The Random Text Says: ""


Find A Way To Watch That Episode

April 2nd, 2001 - 1:37 a.m.

I'm Currently Avoiding:

I should've done this earlier. I've sort of played a joke for April 1st anyway, which if you haven't seen yet, you weren't missing much. Yeah, I'm 101 now. Boy does this diary feel old. No wonder why it doesn't like to update anymore, it gets an entry older every time I do. Today,

April 2 is ....... National Peanut Butter and Jelly Day (I haven't had Peanut Butter & Jelly in a long time. However, it's got to be better than Cinnimon Garlic Banana Toast. In fact, I'm sure it is. Peanut Butter & Jelly Sandwiches for all! (I'm cheap, this is a celebration, but nothing like caviar & champagne. You get PB&J sandwiches and water instead.))

Now what was I going to put here? Oh yeah...ch-ch-ch-ch-chaaanges. Who the hell sings that anyway? It's driving people nuts not being able to remember who sings it. Anyway, the point to that was to introduce the new things. I've taken away the zombie balls, although they might come back at a later date. The elastic balls have been returned to the older entries page b/c they have this one irritating habit which I don't know how to fix. It doesn't really affect anything on the older entries page, so they work well there. But on the front page, it hinders my creativity if I want to scream. Okay. That's basically all I've done. I changed the background of the older entries page to this really ugly shade of purple, but that's going to go away sometime soon, since I can't stand to look at the damn thing. Anyway,

The Words of the Day

a cappella (ah-kuh-PEL-uh adverb or adjective)

: without instrumental accompaniment

A cappella arrived in English from Italian sometime around the mid-19th century. In Italian, a cappella means "in chapel or choir style." Cappella in Italian means chapel; the English word chapel is ultimately (if independently) derived from the Medieval Latin word cappella, which is the source of the Italian cappella as well. Scholars once thought all chapel style music written before the 1600s was performed a cappella, but modern research has revealed that instruments might have doubled or substituted for some voices back then. Today a cappella describes a purely vocal performance.

flummox (v. FLUM-uks)

: confuse

No one is completely sure where the word flummox comes from, but we do know that its first known use in English is found in Charles Dickens' 1837 novel _The Pickwick Papers_: "He'll be what the Italians call reg'larly flummoxed." But fear not that this word is just some archaic relic of the Victorian era. Flummox is alive and well in Britain ("Her reflective tone momentarily flummoxes me." -- _The Independent_, March 24, 2001), and other parts of the English-speaking world, including the United States ("Doctors were flummoxed by the boy's symptoms...." -- _The San Diego Union-Tribune_, March 21, 2001).

Flummox just rocks. This word is right up there with rue and smite and all of those other words which should be used a lot more often than they actually are. Yes, it's one of Those words. But that makes it pretty damn cool in my opinion actually. Whee. Um, I have this whole list of things I want to talk about, but I don't know how much I want to cover before I get tired and want to go away. Well, maybe I'll just do The Outer Limits thing and then call it a night. It is just a little after 3 am already.

Okay, so Friday night, I was really bored and watched "The Outer Limits" on the Sci-fi channel. Normally I watch other things on the Sci-fi channel, other than that show, although I've seen it before. This episode struck me as a very powerful message. The premise was a group of people chucked it all for "A New Life Through Faith & Service." Of course, the person they were following was really an alien, but that's just the way The Outer Limits goes. Anyway, it turns out that the aliens just wanted slaves and decided that it had to be willing slavery, so after 500 years when they finally get to their destination, they'll have 100,000 people who won't find anything wrong with slavery because that's what they're used to. Anyway, the whole point, which I don't think I can explain as well as the show did, was that when you follow someone blindly, you give up your free will to that person, and in doing that, you become slaves. I don't think that's exactly the message, but it was a really good episode and it really got me thinking about religion. I'm really afraid that too many people today blindly devote themselves to something, it doesn't even have to be religion, it could be a blind devotion to the acquisition of wealth, or even a sports team, or any number of things. So with any luck, after reading this you will think. Have I blindly devoted myself to anything? How has it affected my life? Would I be happier if I had free will back? Will my devotion have long-range consequences that will adversely affect others? Oh damnit, just find a way to watch that episode.

Click here to make the biggest hit whore I know happy.



Feeling lucky? Choose an Entry At RANDOM! Yes. Random. Randomosity is cool...come on, you know you want to... Well, if you don't subscribe to peer pressure, then just go Back or Forward with the Dragons below:

Read the Previous Entry by Clicking On This Dragon Read the Next Entry by Clicking On *This* Dragon...I promise they don't bite.

Note: This is just a temporary measure so people can still get to some of these places, until I can do something, like kill HostedScripts.

Read Older Rants / Take the Current Poll / Visit the Polls Page / Sign The *NEW* Message Board

Go to the Lost & Confused Home (there's a home? it's not lost?)
Prev | List | Random | Next Powered by RingSurf!

Join The Cavorting Revolution!

And I like it that way.


ENTER YOUR RANT OR QUESTIONS, FILL IN THE BLANKS, & PRESS SEND
This is another shameless plea for attention & feedback, yes, again.This goes someplace.  Where?  Click it and see.  I thought it was self-explanitory myself.
No idea where this tag is going to show up.Or this one.Look!  Another mystery tag!
This will take you to some directory...again, self-explanitory buttons.
Umm...again, this goes someplace.

Send a Message to Someone Other Than Me Who Has ICQ
Search Something or other hereI have no Idea where This will be.  Great Googaly Moogaly!
What?  Not another one!
This site is powered by the ICQ Web Pager Panel � 1999 ICQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.
I'm going to add some stuff before you get to the fancy stuff they put in here automatically. For anyone who chooses to page me, I will respond to your page via e-mail as soon as possible. However, for faster service, please include your ICQ, MSN Instant Messanger, or AIM number, name, or whatever is appropriate. This will guarantee you faster response, since I'm much better at responding to instant messangers than I am to e-mails. Now you can read all the other stuff that was originally here. You can ICQ-Page the owner of this web page as well as other users right from here with no additional software. Your messagewill be instantly delivered. If the user is online, the message will popup on her screen, if the user is offline it will be stored and forwarded to him/her as soon as she connects to the internet. Installing the ICQ client will enable you to know if your friends are online and communicate directly with them.
Use of the ICQ Web Pager Panel is subject to Terms of Service

More insanity...do you dare? Go on...be a voyeur someplace else Spread the rantings to others...I command it! Become subject to the Voyeuristic tendancies of others