Rant in your own damn diary! I dare you to disagree with me Previous rants Current rants

The Random Text Says: ""


The Cell has Words carved into it about Holidays.

St. Patrick's Day, 2001 - 5 pmish.

I'm Currently Avoiding:

Honestly, I'm beginning to consider that I might as well just find me a bunch of calanders, so that every day is Some sort of holiday, and then instead of having conventional dates, I can have some really really bizarre ones. And every day would be worthy of celebration. Why it would be worthy of celebration, I have no idea. It might not even be. How come the only holidays America celebrates are either Catholic ones or they've been made up? Catholic: St. Patrick's Day, Christmas, Easter, Halloween (I think this is sort of catholic anyway...), Good Friday, Mardi Gras, Valentine's Day, New Year's, whatever else, etc.

Made-up by someone, sometime in American history: Labor Day, Thanksgiving, Columbus Day (I know a person or two who doesn't like that one.), Veteran's Day, MLK Jr. Day, President's Day, Mother's Day, Father's Day, Memorial Day, Flag Day, Fourth of July, etc.

I guess when I look at it, there are a lot more holidays that Americans just made up on the spur of the moment to celebrate something then there are officially celebrated Catholic government-employees-get-the-day-off holidays. I don't know why we celebrate half of this stuff, maybe more. It just seems sort of silly to me. On the other hand, I guess they any excuse to not have to go to work is a good one. Especially if it's a day when the government says you don't have to go to work. That's probably the best excuse of all. Why do we still use the calandar system we have anyway? Are we just too lazy to change it? What does this calandar really mean? Any ideas? Oh yeah, since I've been talking about the days, today...

March 17 is ....... Submarine Day (ummm...excuse me? Submarine Day?!?! Why would anyone want to be happy to celebrate submarines? Whatever. Some things are just incomprehensible to the human mind I guess.)

I think I could very easily become one of those hermit people. If I didn't have to go outside sometimes for whatever reason, I wouldn't. I don't even really like most people most of the time. I'm a misanthrope...yippee. I just hope I don't end up like The Misanthrope. Even if it was funny. Oh well, time for

The Words of the Day

blandishment [n. BLAH-dish-o-mutton]

Blandishment means coaxing or persuading through flattery, teasing, or affection. This noun can be used in the singular or plural. Near synonyms include compliments, sycophancy, cajolery, and flattery.

First seen in English in the 1590s, blandishment was likely taken from the Middle French blandissement. It comes ultimately from the Latin blandir (to flatter) via the Old French blandiss.

leviathan (n. not-e-reel-deh-fuh-nition)

1. a often capitalized : a sea monster undefeated by Yahweh in various scriptural accounts b : a large sea animal

2. capitalized : the political state; especially : a totalitarian state having a vast bureaucracy

3. something large or formidable

Old Testament references to a huge sea monster, Leviathan (in Hebrew, Liwyathan), are thought to spring from an ancient myth in which the god Baal slays a multiheaded sea monster. Leviathan appears in the book of Psalms, as a sea serpent that is killed by God and then given as food to the Hebrews in the wilderness, and it is referred to in the book of Job as well. We began equating Leviathan with the political state after the philosopher Thomas Hobbes used the word in (and as the title of) his 1651 political treatise on government. Today, Leviathan often suggests a crushing political bureaucracy. Leviathan can also be immensely useful as a general term meaning "something monstrous or of enormous size."

One more thing and then I have stuff to do so I'll go away. I saw The Cell the other day. Interesting movie, sort of. The visual effects were astonishing, and whoever wrote the script must've had a very vivid imagination as to what the inside of a demented schizo's head must look like, but other than that, I can't say I really liked it. It's recommended for it's visual effects, but other than that, the actors were rather horrid. Yeah. That's all folks!



Feeling lucky? Choose an Entry At RANDOM! Yes. Random. Randomosity is cool...come on, you know you want to... Well, if you don't subscribe to peer pressure, then just go Back or Forward with the Dragons below:

Read the Previous Entry by Clicking On This Dragon Read the Next Entry by Clicking On *This* Dragon...I promise they don't bite.

Note: This is just a temporary measure so people can still get to some of these places, until I can do something, like kill HostedScripts.

Read Older Rants / Take the Current Poll / Visit the Polls Page / Sign The *NEW* Message Board

Go to the Lost & Confused Home (there's a home? it's not lost?)
Prev | List | Random | Next Powered by RingSurf!

Join The Cavorting Revolution!

And I like it that way.


ENTER YOUR RANT OR QUESTIONS, FILL IN THE BLANKS, & PRESS SEND
This is another shameless plea for attention & feedback, yes, again.This goes someplace.  Where?  Click it and see.  I thought it was self-explanitory myself.
No idea where this tag is going to show up.Or this one.Look!  Another mystery tag!
This will take you to some directory...again, self-explanitory buttons.
Umm...again, this goes someplace.

Send a Message to Someone Other Than Me Who Has ICQ
Search Something or other hereI have no Idea where This will be.  Great Googaly Moogaly!
What?  Not another one!
This site is powered by the ICQ Web Pager Panel � 1999 ICQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.
I'm going to add some stuff before you get to the fancy stuff they put in here automatically. For anyone who chooses to page me, I will respond to your page via e-mail as soon as possible. However, for faster service, please include your ICQ, MSN Instant Messanger, or AIM number, name, or whatever is appropriate. This will guarantee you faster response, since I'm much better at responding to instant messangers than I am to e-mails. Now you can read all the other stuff that was originally here. You can ICQ-Page the owner of this web page as well as other users right from here with no additional software. Your messagewill be instantly delivered. If the user is online, the message will popup on her screen, if the user is offline it will be stored and forwarded to him/her as soon as she connects to the internet. Installing the ICQ client will enable you to know if your friends are online and communicate directly with them.
Use of the ICQ Web Pager Panel is subject to Terms of Service

More insanity...do you dare? Go on...be a voyeur someplace else Spread the rantings to others...I command it! Become subject to the Voyeuristic tendancies of others