Rant in your own damn diary! I dare you to disagree with me Previous rants Current rants

The Random Text Says: ""


Christmas Day & Stuff

December 27th/28th, 2002 - 9:14 p.m.

I'm Currently Avoiding: Mmm...Something? Maybe?

Hmm. I haven't updated in...awhile. Good enough. I meant to last night but didn't get around to it. I was tired. Being tired apparently didn't prevent me from being awake well past 6 am however. Merrrr...the internet pages are being annoying. But then again, that's what I get for having 5 pages open and a very slow connection. It takes forever for any of them to get anywhere. Dum de dum...let's twiddle my thumbs...

I wonder what I haven't talked about? I'm afraid to open up my diary...that would just be one more window that would work very, very slowly. Stupid internet connection that only connects at something like 28.8 kps. Boy do I miss ethernet. I will most likely be shelling out mad money for a cable connection or DSL when I'm no longer in college because of the sheer frustration offered by dial-up is just not worth my sanity compared to the money I save by using it. Ah HA! I figured out why none of the pages were working...stupid protector thing. It's fixed now...whee!

I think I forgot to talk about when my family went and saw "The Two Towers". We went Monday so that was before Christmas Eve. I should have talked about it last entry but I forgot. Oh well. Anyway, we went to the matinee of it on Monday afternoon. It was a freaking long movie. Just short of three hours...longer than that actually by the time you add the fifteen minutes or so of previews. I only liked three things pretty much throughout the entire movie. The rest I was either rather ambivalent of or I actively disliked. Especially the tendency of the camera to spin around in circular shots as well as extended pans near the beginning. That really bothered me to the point where I was starting to get dizzy. Anyway, here's what I liked about "The Two Towers" (If you have a thing for the movie not being spoiled for you then you probably should've skipped down or stopped reading all together by now):

1. The Ents. Especially the battle of the Ents vs. the evil white wizard Sauroman. (The two main villians' names are entirely too similar for me to be comfortable. There's like...a one-letter or syllable difference in the way the two names are pronounced and it's incredibly easy for me to confuse the two even though I know which one is which in deeds and appearance.) It took the Ents like five minutes to completely demolish most of his fortress and stronghold in Isengard. (Don't ask me how anything's spelled, I'm just taking a stab at it. I know they really are spelled funny and as long as possible because Tolkien was annoying.) It was great fun. Especially considering it took the other battle like 12 hours or so to sort of make a dent in the bad guys. It was great. I was amused.

2. The dwarf, Gimli. His wisecracks and the jokes made at his expense were lovely. Especially when they were at the castle just before the battle and he was jumping up and down trying to see over the wall. He asked what was happening and Legolas replied, "Would you like me to describe it to you or shall I get you a box?" It was funny. Dwarves are comedic gold apparently. And the bit a little later about being thrown.

3. The schizophrenic Smeagol/Gollum. He was just great. I was very amused by him. Craziness in individuals is also comedic gold oftimes. Although that one scene where they were switching between Gollum and Smeagol and denoting it by their being in different positions on the screen was kind of annoying because it was almost like watching a tennis ball bounce back and forth at a rapid pace. It made me all...something or other. Anyway, moving on...

Christmas Day. I suppose I'd better babble on about that for awhile. It was a little strange. Okay, a lot strange. Possibly the strangest Christmas I can recall. We went to my Great-uncle's house for dinner because wonder of wonders, my great-aunt Virginia volunteered to cook. And so we went over to their house. I've never actually *been* to their house in my life. NEVER. They only live like... 3/4 of a mile away, a mile max from this house. But I've never been there. Past there, but not there. My great-aunt is a little weird. Okay, maybe a lot weird. She served something very similar to Swedish Meatballs, rice, a green bean casserole thing, this red jello salad with pears and cranberries in it (it was tolerable considering the fact that I don�t even like cranberries), and this Christmas bread stuff that I don�t like. Dessert we�d brought with us so it was these bars with cranberries and coconut (I didn�t eat those of course seeing as how I like neither cranberries nor coconut), and rainbow sherbet. You know, every time I see the word sherbet I really want to spell it with two r�s. That�s how it�s pronounced anyway...at least, around here. So I ate the rainbow sherbet because its yummy and that was it. Dinner was over. But of course, the reminiscing or whathaveyou had only just begun. My great-aunt had a lot of cats in her house because she was afraid they wouldn�t survive the winter. (Three cats that were less than a year old and one cat that was extremely old...as in she said that the cat had been alive since 1975 which puts the cat at a whopping 27 years old.) So my sister and I spent quite a bit of time petting the cats and being amused by their not-yet-adult antics. Then time dragged on...and on...and on. Eventually, we grew weary of the kittenish amusements and my sister asked my mother when we were going home. Her response? �Walk home.� We were bored enough to do it. And we did it in something like 10 or 15 minutes. Because we were cold and because my sister has long legs that I have to keep up with.

So then we were home and we worked on the 3D puzzle of Dracula�s Castle that my sister got for Christmas until the rest of my family came home. Then my aunt insisted that we play a game of Scrabble before we went over to my aunt�s house for supper. There, we were treated to another rather odd meal. See, my aunt�s stove used to be electric, but then a mouse chewed through the wiring so she had to get a new one. To prevent this problem from occuring again, they opted to purchase a gas one. But there was a problem with the person who was supposed to come and hook up the gas, so she�s been without a stove for awhile now. So she had to cook without having a stove or oven to cook with. It was interesting to say the least. So we had a fairly traditional supper of leftovers at her house, but whose leftovers I�m not entirely sure. Since she didn�t have an oven or anything to cook the turkey and ham that she had. Anyway, we had a choice of three soups: onion, turkey, or bean with ham in addition to ham and/or turkey sandwiches on buns. I had the turkey soup, which was a little bland, but good enough. It could have used some vegetables or spices or something.

The big news of the evening was the fact that my cousin Alexandra was home (she has another name, her middle name, that I�m used to calling her by and I should not type it because she doesn�t like it all that much). Not only was she home, but she�d brought her significant other along with her. He�d proposed to her on Christmas Eve and she is now an engaged individual. That was big news. I hadn�t seen her in a long time. She�s going to move to Minnesota sometime in the spring I think. I guess I�m happy for her, but honestly...I can�t imagine being engaged at her age. She�s younger than I am. At least she�s known him for five years as a friend and a boyfriend before getting engaged. Knowing someone for awhile before getting engaged sounds like a very good idea to me. But I still can�t imagine it. It boggles my mind. After supper, we opened presents for the second time that day and then I played pinochle with two of my cousin�s and Alex�s fiance, Ryan. Then we went home around 11 pm or so. Maybe later. I forget. I don�t know...not much more in the way of news...gifts received I suppose is about the only thing I can think of. No one really even bothered to ask me what I wanted for Christmas this year, they all just took a guess. I got: a pair of earrings from Denmark (courtesy of Julie...and I like them which is a near-miracle since her aesthetic tastes and mine when it comes to things like jewelry and art are almost worlds apart), a new laptop (joy abounds, but it was previously discussed), $20, a fleece scarf (it looks nice and would be lovely...that is, if I wore or had the slightest desire to wear scarves), a book light (which seems like it would be apropriate but which I find fairly irritating because, like most book lights, it�s designed to function with hardcover books instead of paperbacks), a fleece hooded jacket (a nice guesture I suppose...if it was black. But instead, it�s a dark purple that I don�t really care for much at all), a book I wanted, a book I already had on my shelves (another useless gift), a pair of black socks that are strange but very comfy, and a tiny stuffed loon from my sister that has no functional value and looks more like a penguin than a loon in my opinion. So I guess looking at all of the gifts gathered, about 1/2 or less of them are things I�m happy with. I think I�m probably a hard person to give gifts to...to the point where hardly anyone even bothers to ask me what I want anymore. Anyway, that�s more than enough for now. Ciao. It's now 2:43 am and time to...something.



Feeling lucky? Choose an Entry At RANDOM! Yes. Random. Randomosity is cool...come on, you know you want to... Well, if you don't subscribe to peer pressure, then just go Back or Forward with the Dragons below:

Read the Previous Entry by Clicking On This Dragon Read the Next Entry by Clicking On *This* Dragon...I promise they don't bite.

Note: This is just a temporary measure so people can still get to some of these places, until I can do something, like kill HostedScripts.

Read Older Rants / Take the Current Poll / Visit the Polls Page / Sign The *NEW* Message Board

Go to the Lost & Confused Home (there's a home? it's not lost?)
Prev | List | Random | Next Powered by RingSurf!

Join The Cavorting Revolution!

And I like it that way.


ENTER YOUR RANT OR QUESTIONS, FILL IN THE BLANKS, & PRESS SEND
This is another shameless plea for attention & feedback, yes, again.This goes someplace.  Where?  Click it and see.  I thought it was self-explanitory myself.
No idea where this tag is going to show up.Or this one.Look!  Another mystery tag!
This will take you to some directory...again, self-explanitory buttons.
Umm...again, this goes someplace.

Send a Message to Someone Other Than Me Who Has ICQ
Search Something or other hereI have no Idea where This will be.  Great Googaly Moogaly!
What?  Not another one!
This site is powered by the ICQ Web Pager Panel � 1999 ICQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.
I'm going to add some stuff before you get to the fancy stuff they put in here automatically. For anyone who chooses to page me, I will respond to your page via e-mail as soon as possible. However, for faster service, please include your ICQ, MSN Instant Messanger, or AIM number, name, or whatever is appropriate. This will guarantee you faster response, since I'm much better at responding to instant messangers than I am to e-mails. Now you can read all the other stuff that was originally here. You can ICQ-Page the owner of this web page as well as other users right from here with no additional software. Your messagewill be instantly delivered. If the user is online, the message will popup on her screen, if the user is offline it will be stored and forwarded to him/her as soon as she connects to the internet. Installing the ICQ client will enable you to know if your friends are online and communicate directly with them.
Use of the ICQ Web Pager Panel is subject to Terms of Service

More insanity...do you dare? Go on...be a voyeur someplace else Spread the rantings to others...I command it! Become subject to the Voyeuristic tendancies of others