Rant in your own damn diary! I dare you to disagree with me Previous rants Current rants

The Random Text Says: ""


Lots of Movies Leave Me Not Tired.

December 6th, 2002 - 4:39 a.m.

I'm Currently Avoiding: Various End of Semester Things, and oddly enough - Sleep.

Oooh. I haven't updated for like four days. Oopsy.

I'm trying to remember what I wanted to say. But then again, I'm tired and I don't know what I'm saying anymore. La lala la. I don't even remember where I was in my life story in the previous entry. I still have a zillion and two pages to write for classes, but at least the research project due date is the Monday after next rather than the one a scant few days from now. That makes me happy. And the paper I have to write on the research project isn't due until the 20th, but I'll have to finish it on the 19th sometime because my flight home is on the 20th! Yay!!! You'd better believe I'm counting the days until I get to take a vacation and regain what little sanity I may or may not possess normally. I'm looking forward to it with great joy and anticipation. Well...not so much the part where I'm in South Dakota and it's freezing cold with lots of snow, but the part where I get to relax and be with family (even if family members sometimes aren't all that relaxing). That'll be good.

It snowed 8-10 inches here today, yesterday, whatever day you think it is. I haven't been to bed yet, so I'm going to say that it's still Thursday even though I only had a few hours of sleep and sincerely wish I'd gotten quite a few more. I'm really tired. Why I'm not asleep is a mystery to me. Or maybe I'm too tired. I got my rebate for my cellphone in the mail the other day. That was a nice gift of money I forgot I had. So what do I do? I turn around and spend more than 1/2 of it on something else. Meh. At least I got a 10% off coupon so shipping was free plus I knocked a whopping $.55 off of the price of the framed print I bought. Now I'm going to have to pick up a wall hanger thing that doesn't put a hole in the wall since a) I'm not allowed to do that and b) Even if, by some remote chance I was allowed to do such a thing I still wouldn't be able to because I lack both a nail and a hammer. Maybe the bookstore carries them. The bookstore carries just about everything after all. It'd be good if it did, because I have a $10 gift certificate kind of thing from my MasterCard for...having a card I guess. So then the wall hanger won't cost me anything extra and I can buy a book too and maybe only pay a dollar or two for the whole shebang, depending on the price of the book and taxes. My print should be here before I leave for Christmas, so that'll be like, "Merry Christmas to Me" apparently.

It'll be good. Happy times to me. Anyway, even though we had a lot of snow they still didn't cancel classes today, so I went to my second one and was complimented for looking chic in such weather. That was fun. We get snow seldom enough here that when we do, quite a few people on campus seem to regress about a decade or so to the point where they're out throwing snowballs at each other. I guess I can see the appeal, but I have no desire to join them in their frolicking. I have a song stuck in my head. Pat Benatar keeps singing, "What are we waiting for..." I think the song is called "Innocent" but I could be wrong. I just might use it for story material. Because that's what I seem to be doing with songs stuck in my head lately. I've watched an awful lot of movies today. I watched "Do Over" which isn't a movie, but the whole episode was just a riff on "Ferris Bueller's Day Off" because it was the main character's 15/35th birthday. Then I watched...merrr, some sort of 80s movie on VH1 I think. I honestly can't remember...aren't you glad you don't have my horrific memory? It's just not coming to my head. It must not be memorable or something I enjoyed, given my complete non-memory of this. I don't know. But eventually...(whenever that was), the thing(s) I was watching got over and I realized I'd missed the first 15 minutes of "Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood", so I flipped it over and watched all of the rest of it. Then I watched "Death to Smoochy" which came on after it. Then, after *that* I watched most of what I'd missed of the first movie while waiting for "The Sum of All Fears" to come on the other movie channel (the 2nd channel plays the same movies as the first does, only 4 hours after the 1st one). So I watched that and now "Blade II" is on, which I've actually seen so I may not stay awake to watch all of that. Somewhere in all of this movie-watching I've lost the ability to understand English according to certain people.

So I'll babble some more about what I thought about all these movies I'd never seen before. The Ya-Ya movie...enh. It was all right I suppose. It's fairly rare to have a film that's so focused on the feminine I think. There was only...a handful of men in the entire movie. Maybe 10 total including those who were only there for a scene and then disappeared. It was...interesting for it's portrayal of relations between females. That's about all I'm going to say for that. Death to Smoochy...well, some of it was good, but a lot of it was bad. I didn't really like the end, but every once in awhile there was a marvelous line or scene. I know they existed, but I can't remember what they are any more of course. I'm not sure that the good lines are enough to make me watch it a second time to find them though. Okay, the one thing I remember that I was amused by was how Rainbow Randolph (Robin Williams) set up Smoochy (don't know the actor) in a contrived scandal. It was sort of offensive, but I was amused nevertheless. He called Smoochy up using a fake accent and asked him to do a benefit "for the wee ones" so they could present him with a plaque afterwards. So he, of course, agrees to do the benefit and Robin Williams comes and picks him up. Smoochy goes out on stage in his stupid purple rhino costume and tries to sing. He can't see the audience because of the bright spotlight. When the spotlight dims, there's no children, only an illegal gathering of Nazis chanting "Smooch Heil" or some such thing. And he's got a big swastika behind him as the police rush in and arrest everybody and people take pictures or some such thing. It was amusing to me, but perhaps it shouldn't have been. The Sum of All Fears...well, it was more interesting than I thought it was going to be, but it's pretty much just another one of those "nuclear threat" movies without much of an interesting plot twist to keep my attention. So that's not really anything I'd watch a second time either. Although Morgan Freeman was good, but he's almost always good. That's Just the Way He Is. Simple as that. Anyway, enough of my babbling. I'm going to...something something something now. It might even involve sleep...maybe.



Feeling lucky? Choose an Entry At RANDOM! Yes. Random. Randomosity is cool...come on, you know you want to... Well, if you don't subscribe to peer pressure, then just go Back or Forward with the Dragons below:

Read the Previous Entry by Clicking On This Dragon Read the Next Entry by Clicking On *This* Dragon...I promise they don't bite.

Note: This is just a temporary measure so people can still get to some of these places, until I can do something, like kill HostedScripts.

Read Older Rants / Take the Current Poll / Visit the Polls Page / Sign The *NEW* Message Board

Go to the Lost & Confused Home (there's a home? it's not lost?)
Prev | List | Random | Next Powered by RingSurf!

Join The Cavorting Revolution!

And I like it that way.


ENTER YOUR RANT OR QUESTIONS, FILL IN THE BLANKS, & PRESS SEND
This is another shameless plea for attention & feedback, yes, again.This goes someplace.  Where?  Click it and see.  I thought it was self-explanitory myself.
No idea where this tag is going to show up.Or this one.Look!  Another mystery tag!
This will take you to some directory...again, self-explanitory buttons.
Umm...again, this goes someplace.

Send a Message to Someone Other Than Me Who Has ICQ
Search Something or other hereI have no Idea where This will be.  Great Googaly Moogaly!
What?  Not another one!
This site is powered by the ICQ Web Pager Panel � 1999 ICQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.
I'm going to add some stuff before you get to the fancy stuff they put in here automatically. For anyone who chooses to page me, I will respond to your page via e-mail as soon as possible. However, for faster service, please include your ICQ, MSN Instant Messanger, or AIM number, name, or whatever is appropriate. This will guarantee you faster response, since I'm much better at responding to instant messangers than I am to e-mails. Now you can read all the other stuff that was originally here. You can ICQ-Page the owner of this web page as well as other users right from here with no additional software. Your messagewill be instantly delivered. If the user is online, the message will popup on her screen, if the user is offline it will be stored and forwarded to him/her as soon as she connects to the internet. Installing the ICQ client will enable you to know if your friends are online and communicate directly with them.
Use of the ICQ Web Pager Panel is subject to Terms of Service

More insanity...do you dare? Go on...be a voyeur someplace else Spread the rantings to others...I command it! Become subject to the Voyeuristic tendancies of others