Rant in your own damn diary! I dare you to disagree with me Previous rants Current rants

The Random Text Says: ""


People Tell Me...

October 18th, 2001 - 1:03 a.m.

I'm Currently Avoiding:

I haven't the faintest idea why I'm updating. I don't exactly have anything to write about, I don't feel like writing in this, and to top it off, I was busy writing something else. Oh wait, I know why. It's cause certain people went and said, "You havent updated *enough* this week. More!" Hence, yesterday and today...

October 17 is ..... Gaudy Day (Oooh, pretty. Does that mean I should make this entry gaudy? That's a thought.)

October 18 is ..... No Beard Day (good thing that for me, every day is no beard day. I'd really hate to have to get a job at the circus.)

Lookie here! Or Don't

circadian (adj. ser-KAY-dee-un)

: being, having, characterized by, or occurring in

approximately 24-hour periods or cycles (as of biological activity or function)

Fifty years ago, no one talked about circadian rhythms -- because circadian hadn't even been coined yet. In 1959, a scientist formed the word from the Latin words circa (about) and dies (day), and it became popular pretty quickly. Circadian appeared in periodicals throughout the sixties, and appeared in a Merriam-Webster dictionary before the decade was up. Most often, it's seen and heard in the term circadian rhythm, which refers to the inherent cycle of about 24 hours that appears to control various biological processes, such as sleep, wakefulness, and digestive activity. If you want to impress your friends, you can also use the term circadian dysrhythmia, a fancy synonym of jet lag.

rife (adj. RYFE)

1 : prevalent especially to an increasing degree

2 : abundant, common

3 : copiously supplied : abounding

English is rife with words that have Germanic connections, many of which have been handed down to us from Old English. Rife is one of those words -- it's related to Middle Low German rive, meaning abundant. Not a whole lot has changed with rife in its 900-year history. We continue to use the word, as we have since the 12th century, for negative things, especially those that are widespread or prevalent. Typical examples are shoplifting was rife or rife with misspelled words. Rumors and speculation are frequently described as rife as well. But rife can also be appropriately used, as it has been for hundreds of years, for good or neutral things. For example, you might speak of the summer garden, rife with scents.

Quote of the Day: "I detest life-insurance agents; they always argue that I shall some day die, which is not so." -- Stephen Leacock (1869 - 1944)

Well...obviously the life-insurance agents won that quarrel.

You know what? I lied, I do have a few things to say. First of all, I have NO chocolate in the house and it's driving me nuts! I have to go cry now because I have no chocolate and chocolateis as essential to me as breathing practically. Additionally, construction workers are idiots. They're replacing the pattern of bricks or whatever on this bridge that practically everyone and their mother goes over at least once a day, if not more often. So it would make sense to work on this bridge in the summer, when not as many people go across the bridge, right? WRONG! Instead, you must commence work scant days before students arrive on campus and classes begin in order to cause maximum discomfort to a maximum number of people for the maximum amount of time. Construction workers might do this to people on roads and things too. Anyway, so now they've got this little narrow corridor instead of the whole bridge to go across. They've even managed to Complicate the corridor by moving part of it near the end over a little more, and then more, and then more, until I presume, eventually the whole corridor is shifted over to the left or right, depending on which side of the bridge you're starting from. The best part of this is that the corridor is only two-people wide, allowing one person to go accross in one direction and one person to go accross in the other. This means that if you are pressed for time and need to go accross the bridge quickly, but are stuck behind a person walking extremely slowly, that You Are Screwed. It's all great fun, and we really appreciate it. And that's just yet another thing I don't understand about the way things work.

Song of the Day: "River of Dreams" by Billy Joel b/c (and why else?) it's on at the moment.

Did it once, I was amused, might as well do it again. Never is enough, time is relative, no, space is relative, No, wait, space and time are seperate, no relative, no, space and time are imaginary concepts that don't really exist! And while we're at it, air isn't tangible, neither is faith and belief and a bunch of other things, so those don't exist either! In fact, you're all in my head and I wish you'd get out...it's getting crowded in there. 6 billion plus and growing...what are you, crazy? No, but I am, and no wonder with 6 billion people praying to me for help. Aaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!! No wonder why I need anthrax, I need to get some of these voices out of my head so that I can regain a modicum of sanity. What's that you say? I was never sane to begin with? Well, then I need fewer voices to listen to because I can't concentrate on playing dice with the universe. I *need* to concentrate for that, the universe is a damn good dice player. Purple velvet underground feelings hide neon signs screaming for attention. Saving tonight leads to a night being taken off of the time until the end of the world as we know it. Dawn breaks and crashes to the ground, broken into so many pieces that Humpty Dumpty can't put it back together again. Drugs cloud brilliant minds, leaving the dullards to control the media and hence the world. Pretty blue patterns leave the senses senseless. Brainwashing? Who said there was anything there to begin with? Babble babble babble...Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm? Tired, tired, tired...everything must be said thrice, that's the whole point. To tired to continue.

Hmm...this had better not become a trend.



Feeling lucky? Choose an Entry At RANDOM! Yes. Random. Randomosity is cool...come on, you know you want to... Well, if you don't subscribe to peer pressure, then just go Back or Forward with the Dragons below:

Read the Previous Entry by Clicking On This Dragon Read the Next Entry by Clicking On *This* Dragon...I promise they don't bite.

Note: This is just a temporary measure so people can still get to some of these places, until I can do something, like kill HostedScripts.

Read Older Rants / Take the Current Poll / Visit the Polls Page / Sign The *NEW* Message Board

Go to the Lost & Confused Home (there's a home? it's not lost?)
Prev | List | Random | Next Powered by RingSurf!

Join The Cavorting Revolution!

And I like it that way.


ENTER YOUR RANT OR QUESTIONS, FILL IN THE BLANKS, & PRESS SEND
This is another shameless plea for attention & feedback, yes, again.This goes someplace.  Where?  Click it and see.  I thought it was self-explanitory myself.
No idea where this tag is going to show up.Or this one.Look!  Another mystery tag!
This will take you to some directory...again, self-explanitory buttons.
Umm...again, this goes someplace.

Send a Message to Someone Other Than Me Who Has ICQ
Search Something or other hereI have no Idea where This will be.  Great Googaly Moogaly!
What?  Not another one!
This site is powered by the ICQ Web Pager Panel � 1999 ICQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.
I'm going to add some stuff before you get to the fancy stuff they put in here automatically. For anyone who chooses to page me, I will respond to your page via e-mail as soon as possible. However, for faster service, please include your ICQ, MSN Instant Messanger, or AIM number, name, or whatever is appropriate. This will guarantee you faster response, since I'm much better at responding to instant messangers than I am to e-mails. Now you can read all the other stuff that was originally here. You can ICQ-Page the owner of this web page as well as other users right from here with no additional software. Your messagewill be instantly delivered. If the user is online, the message will popup on her screen, if the user is offline it will be stored and forwarded to him/her as soon as she connects to the internet. Installing the ICQ client will enable you to know if your friends are online and communicate directly with them.
Use of the ICQ Web Pager Panel is subject to Terms of Service

More insanity...do you dare? Go on...be a voyeur someplace else Spread the rantings to others...I command it! Become subject to the Voyeuristic tendancies of others