Rant in your own damn diary! I dare you to disagree with me Previous rants Current rants

The Random Text Says: ""


I Whine & National Puzzles

October 8th, 2001 - 2:14 a.m.

I'm Currently Avoiding:

How come no one updates on the weekend damnit? My buddylist has one person who updated 13 hours ago and everyone else is at least a day old. I wanted distractions! But no! Everybody's apparently too busy actually having a Life to update their diaries. What's wrong with everyone? Don't they know they're not allowed to have lives which take time away from their diary-writing? So, today,

October 8 is ..... American Tag Day (Who's American playing tag with? The terrorists? England? Canada?)

There are these little annoying flies, I don't know, fruit flies or gnats maybe. It doesn't matter what they're called, only that they're annoying and that they seem to have this magical ability to spontaneously appear anytime I have fruit or something similar in my room. I swear these little fly things must have teleportation powers or something. They pop in and out of places...they must have homing devices too. High-tech tiny flies with the power to teleport themselves anyplace they want and homing devices so that they can detect appealing food reminants within a mile radius. Obviously, tiny flies have a much more advanced civilization and technology than human beings realize. Yet they're still fairly easy to kill with a flyswatter. They should look into some counter-measures for that particular problem. Anybody know how to get rid of these things?!?!

I'm Almost Tired of These Things...

stratagem (n. STRAT-uh-jum or STRAT-uh-jem)

1 a : an artifice or trick in war for deceiving and outwitting the enemy b : a cleverly contrived trick or scheme for gaining an end

2 : skill in ruses or trickery

Parents often need to come up with various stratagems to get the family out the door on time each morning. A stratagem is any clever scheme -- sometimes one that's part of an overall strategy (i.e., a carefully worked out plan of action). Clearly, we no longer limit ourselves to the original military sense of stratagem, as 15th-century users of the term did. The military meaning can be traced back to the word's Greek ancestor strategema, which is itself based on strategein, meaning to act as a general. Strategein in turn comes from strategos (general), which comes from stratos (army) and agein (to lead). Strategos is an ancestor of strategy as well.

Today, in a futile attempt to make myself feel better about not doing anything I should've, I did one of the things I truly despise, I vacuumed. Somehow, seeing the floor clean and free of the little bits of plaster that fell from the ceiling due to it leaking, it seems like I actually did something today. Tomorrow, however, I'm going to be cursing myself for being such an idiot and ruing the fact that I'm a complete and utter procrastinator who never does anything until the last possible moment. And maybe I'll do something utterly frivolous later and paint my nails. That won't make me any more accomplished either, but it'll look pretty for about all of five minutes, if that before it chips. Which leads me to another question, why is it that every single bottle of nailpolish I own, no matter what shade or brand-name, manages to chip roughly five minutes after I apply it?

On a less whiny, woe-is-me note, and on a more inter/national note, the U.S. & Great Britain were bombing Afghanistan today. The fact that its also...what, both Columbus Day, Native American Day, AND Thanksgiving Day (in Canada), somehow supplies this act with a lot of irony. I guess before now, I was rather impressed by how things had progressed. It seemed like they were (barring the occasional rant against the Taliban and cursing of bin Laden) being fairly rational, reasonable, and cautious about this whole thing. I was rather pleased by how thorough they were, but suddenly they're dropping bombs? Yeah. Now how are dropping bombs on select targets in Afghanistan any different than hijacking a few planes and crashing them into certain U.S. targets? Other than the fact that actual terrorists gave their lives to complete their mission while the people dropping bombs aren't losing anything, that is. I'd really like someone to explain how those things are different to me. And does the fact that we're going to drop both bombs and relief/food supplies seem bizarre to anybody else? Well, it's been an hour, I'm going to stop this now and go do something less than productive.



Feeling lucky? Choose an Entry At RANDOM! Yes. Random. Randomosity is cool...come on, you know you want to... Well, if you don't subscribe to peer pressure, then just go Back or Forward with the Dragons below:

Read the Previous Entry by Clicking On This Dragon Read the Next Entry by Clicking On *This* Dragon...I promise they don't bite.

Note: This is just a temporary measure so people can still get to some of these places, until I can do something, like kill HostedScripts.

Read Older Rants / Take the Current Poll / Visit the Polls Page / Sign The *NEW* Message Board

Go to the Lost & Confused Home (there's a home? it's not lost?)
Prev | List | Random | Next Powered by RingSurf!

Join The Cavorting Revolution!

And I like it that way.


ENTER YOUR RANT OR QUESTIONS, FILL IN THE BLANKS, & PRESS SEND
This is another shameless plea for attention & feedback, yes, again.This goes someplace.  Where?  Click it and see.  I thought it was self-explanitory myself.
No idea where this tag is going to show up.Or this one.Look!  Another mystery tag!
This will take you to some directory...again, self-explanitory buttons.
Umm...again, this goes someplace.

Send a Message to Someone Other Than Me Who Has ICQ
Search Something or other hereI have no Idea where This will be.  Great Googaly Moogaly!
What?  Not another one!
This site is powered by the ICQ Web Pager Panel � 1999 ICQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.
I'm going to add some stuff before you get to the fancy stuff they put in here automatically. For anyone who chooses to page me, I will respond to your page via e-mail as soon as possible. However, for faster service, please include your ICQ, MSN Instant Messanger, or AIM number, name, or whatever is appropriate. This will guarantee you faster response, since I'm much better at responding to instant messangers than I am to e-mails. Now you can read all the other stuff that was originally here. You can ICQ-Page the owner of this web page as well as other users right from here with no additional software. Your messagewill be instantly delivered. If the user is online, the message will popup on her screen, if the user is offline it will be stored and forwarded to him/her as soon as she connects to the internet. Installing the ICQ client will enable you to know if your friends are online and communicate directly with them.
Use of the ICQ Web Pager Panel is subject to Terms of Service

More insanity...do you dare? Go on...be a voyeur someplace else Spread the rantings to others...I command it! Become subject to the Voyeuristic tendancies of others