Rant in your own damn diary! I dare you to disagree with me Previous rants Current rants

The Random Text Says: ""


Girl Scouts are Inviolable.

March 22nd, 2001 - 7:07 p.m.

I'm Currently Avoiding:

Ummm...Yeah. What was I going to put here? I think there was something, but my head's not cooperating well today. "You've committed one of the classic blunders. The most famous is never get involved in a land war in Asia, but only slightly less well-known is never go in against a Sicilian when Death is on the line! Hahaha...hahaha...haha (Falls over dead)." I love that movie. Although I think I might have quoted it wrong. It's not like I was writing things down as I was watching. I missed the beginning though, which sucked. I haven't seen the beginning of that movie in a long time. Which is really too bad, cause that movie rocks. Yeah. Anyway, today,

March 22 is ....... National Goof-off Day (Why can't this be every day? I guess cause you can't do that sort of thing everyday. Why, I don't know, but you just can't.)

Yeah. What else? Oh yeah, there are these...

The Words of the Day

misprision [n. un-wiz-ened]

A misprision is misadministration of a public office. Near synonyms include misconduct, malfeasance, transgression, and dereliction.

Misprision is also a legal term that means failure to disclose knowledge of treason or of a felony. It can also mean an act of sedition against the government, although this meaning is not often seen anymore.

Misprision has been in use since the 1400s. It is an Anglo-French word that came to us from the Old French mesprison, from the French mespris, the past participle of the verb mesprendre (to act wrongly, to mistake).

inviolable (adj. in-VYE-uh-luh-lah-bye)

1. secure from violation or profanation

2. secure from assault or trespass : unassailable

Inviolable is a venerable word that has been with us since the 15th century. Its opposite, violable ("capable of being or likely to be violated") appeared a century later. The English playwright Shackerley Marmion made what appears to be good use of violable in _A Fine Companion_ in 1633, writing "Alas, my heart is Tender and violable with the least weapon Sorrow can dart at me." But English speakers have never warmed up to that word the way we have to inviolable and it is used quite a bit less frequently. The Latin root of both terms is the verb violare, which means "to violate" and is most likely from violentus, the word that gave us violent.

Misprison I chose because it didn't mean what I was expecting it to mean. As for inviolable...it's one of those words. Those words which don't really have opposites. There are negatives, but you never seen the positive used. You rarely ever see someone say, "Oh look at that slut over there, with her trashy clothes, she's definately violable." It's just silly. Some words have gone away which should be brought back though. Like smite. Smite is an awesome word. But no one ever uses it. I'd be the biggest fan if some television newsperson said, "And in the news tonight, a local teen smited (Is that the proper tense for that word? Smote maybe?) several of his fellow classmates today with a gun." This doesn't make the news any less horrible or shocking, it just makes me a happy camper because someone finally used the word smite. I looked it up...you do have to use smote, but I still think smited should be a form. Anyway, we should use that word more often. And rue. That would needs to come back too. Disney will rue the day they tried to take over my mind. Those friggin cows and UFO sheep will rue the day they kidnapped me. I love that phrase. It's such fun. Oh yeah, speaking of news stuff, here are...Snippets.

The run up to the British elections is getting nasty. The BBC reports the ruling Labor Party has produced a video horror spoof that labels Tory leader William Hague as "the son of Satan." Conservatives are not commenting on the video, which Laborites say was meant only for activists. According to the BBC: "The video opens with shots of Margaret Thatcher and a commentary condemning her economic policy. Although she has now departed, the commentary warns: 'They forgot one thing -- there was a son.'"

Ummm...okay, let me get this straight. Margaret Thatcher is Satan and William Hague is her son? Is he Really her son? Or was the opposition exaggerating or something? Forgive me, I'm afraid I'm just not current with the sons of former British leaders. Isn't it a bit extreme to call someone, and a woman at that, Satan? Geez...some people. And no, I don't mean me.

Officials with Girl Scouts of the USA confirm they're changing uniforms for its older members to attract girls who had been shunning the organization because the uniforms "weren't cool." So, gone are the pleated, knee-length skirts, leggings and striped blouses. The updated uniforms include khaki miniskirts and parachute cargo pants, light blue polo shirts, fitted blouses and bucket hats. For the younger girls, there's a hooded, zip-up sweatshirt in green with a yellow stripe. Spokeswoman Alexus Ranniar said the number of 12- to 17-year-old girls joining the Girl Scouts has been lagging in recent years. "We had been trying to get a feel for the (slow growth) in membership for older girls," Ranniar said. "They told us the uniforms weren't cool."

Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.....umm, Girl Scouts are scary, yeah. And now they're getting new uniforms for the first time in like decades or something. Remind me not to become a Girl Scout (oh yeah, no more danger of that.) But really, miniskirts? Ick. That ought to be really warm in the winter. No wonder why Girl Scouts are evil. More proof...they're trying to "update their image." Eep. Yeah. Anyway, I need to post this before midnight, and it's 20 minutes to that now...so I think I'll be going now.

And remember....Headaches Suck Royally! (Especially Migraines.)



Feeling lucky? Choose an Entry At RANDOM! Yes. Random. Randomosity is cool...come on, you know you want to... Well, if you don't subscribe to peer pressure, then just go Back or Forward with the Dragons below:

Read the Previous Entry by Clicking On This Dragon Read the Next Entry by Clicking On *This* Dragon...I promise they don't bite.

Note: This is just a temporary measure so people can still get to some of these places, until I can do something, like kill HostedScripts.

Read Older Rants / Take the Current Poll / Visit the Polls Page / Sign The *NEW* Message Board

Go to the Lost & Confused Home (there's a home? it's not lost?)
Prev | List | Random | Next Powered by RingSurf!

Join The Cavorting Revolution!

And I like it that way.


ENTER YOUR RANT OR QUESTIONS, FILL IN THE BLANKS, & PRESS SEND
This is another shameless plea for attention & feedback, yes, again.This goes someplace.  Where?  Click it and see.  I thought it was self-explanitory myself.
No idea where this tag is going to show up.Or this one.Look!  Another mystery tag!
This will take you to some directory...again, self-explanitory buttons.
Umm...again, this goes someplace.

Send a Message to Someone Other Than Me Who Has ICQ
Search Something or other hereI have no Idea where This will be.  Great Googaly Moogaly!
What?  Not another one!
This site is powered by the ICQ Web Pager Panel � 1999 ICQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.
I'm going to add some stuff before you get to the fancy stuff they put in here automatically. For anyone who chooses to page me, I will respond to your page via e-mail as soon as possible. However, for faster service, please include your ICQ, MSN Instant Messanger, or AIM number, name, or whatever is appropriate. This will guarantee you faster response, since I'm much better at responding to instant messangers than I am to e-mails. Now you can read all the other stuff that was originally here. You can ICQ-Page the owner of this web page as well as other users right from here with no additional software. Your messagewill be instantly delivered. If the user is online, the message will popup on her screen, if the user is offline it will be stored and forwarded to him/her as soon as she connects to the internet. Installing the ICQ client will enable you to know if your friends are online and communicate directly with them.
Use of the ICQ Web Pager Panel is subject to Terms of Service

More insanity...do you dare? Go on...be a voyeur someplace else Spread the rantings to others...I command it! Become subject to the Voyeuristic tendancies of others