Rant in your own damn diary! I dare you to disagree with me Previous rants Current rants

The Random Text Says: ""


Viewer Opinion, Lots of Words, and Something or Other.

March 4th, 2001 - 4:30 am, almost

I'm Currently Avoiding:

Hmmm...I have like 3 words to put up, the "day" thing, a news snippet maybe, and a question that I'd like answered, but I don't want to make this an extremely long entry b/c I sort of would like to go to bed. This presents a problem. Not that copying and pasting is hard beyond belief, but I'd like to include some actual content that isn't copied and pasted as well. And I'm tempted to put a time contstraint on this just to make sure this isn't one of those things I spend hours writing, only to have Diaryland delete it for no apparent reason. An update on yesterday's situation. Yes, I did end up using the emergency restore disk and losing all my files, ICQ contacts, programs, etc. (Notice what's important here. You'd think it was important too if you had 90 people on the damn list and could only remember a fraction of them.) It sucked royally all around. What's a decent brand of laptop? Anyone know? Oooohhh...maybe that will be the next poll question. Too bad there isn't a write-in other category. I'll have to see about constructing my polls elsewhere where that might be possible. Oh yeah, the other thing that I'm really missing...my bookmarks. I had all these nifty places for websites and things bookmarked and now I can't remember any of them. Yippee! Um, today,

March 4 is ....... Holy Experiment Day(This day not recommended for children, aliens, monkeys and other pets, people pregnant or who have had sex in the past month, trees, goats, or anyone who is not in a religious order, concentrating on scientific advancements within the church. The list of not recommended people also include Christian Scientologists and those weird Scientology people who are really a cult with L. Ron Hubbard posing as god.)

And now, in alphabetical order no less, here are:

The Words of the Day

posse (n. PA-sees-all)

1. a large group often with a common interest

2. a body of persons summoned by a sheriff to assist in preserving the public peace usually in an emergency

3. a group of people temporarily organized to make a search

"Posse" started out as a technical term in law, part of the term "posse comitatus," which in Medieval Latin meant "power of the county." As such, it referred to a group of citizens summoned by a sheriff to preserve the public peace as allowed for by law. "Preserving the public peace" so often meant hunting down a supposed criminal that "posse" eventually came to mean any group organized to make a search or embark on a mission. In even broader use it can refer to any group, period. Sometimes nowadays that group is a gang or a rock band but it can as easily be any bunch -- of politicians, models, architects, tourists, children, or what have you -- acting in concert.

thrasonical (adj. thray-SAH-nih-greyskul or nihkul-or-dyme)

1. of, relating to, resembling, or characteristic of Thraso : bragging, boastful

Thraso was a blustering old soldier in the comedy "Eunuchus," a play written by the great Roman dramatist Terence more than 2,000 years ago.

Terence is generally remembered for his realistic characterizations, and in Thraso he created a swaggerer whose vainglorious boastfulness was not soon to be forgotten. Thraso's reputation as a braggart lives on in "thrasonical," a word that boasts a more than 400-year history as an English adjective.

waggish (adj. WAG-the-dog)

1. resembling or characteristic of a wag : displaying good-humored

mischief

2. done or made in waggery or for sport : humorous

One who is waggish acts like a wag. What, then, is a wag? Etymologists think "wag" probably came from "waghalter," a word that was once used for a "gallows bird" (that is, a person who was going to be, or deserved to be, hanged). "Waghalter" was apparently shortened to "wag" and used jokingly or affectionately for mischievous pranksters or youths. Hence a wag is a joker, and waggery is merriment or practical joking. "Waggish" can describe the prank itself as well as the prankster type; the class clown might be said to have a waggish disposition or might be said to be prone to waggish antics.*

*All examples and some irritating quotes deleted/edited because they were pissing me off and to save space. That is, I deleted some of the condescending quotes because they were ticking me off, but it ticked me off more to have the back button going off all the time, so I stopped.

Didn't I have something else to say after we got done with all those words which aren't mine? I could've sworn...ha. Oh yeah. I have whorage things, but I'll get to that some other time. Whoreage can always wait. And yes, I did spell that 2 different ways in 2 sentences. Oh, my question. That's what I wanted to do. Well, we'll do that now then.

.........

.....................

............................

.................................

Or maybe we'll do it later. Ha. Oh, I was wondering...do you think that a person's taste in music correlates in any way with their taste in literature? Or how about where they live? Does that affect anything on either of the two? Well? Does it? You can voice your opinion in a variety of ways. You may, E-mail Me, Say it on the Message Board, or you may give it in your guestbook entry. Also, use one of the afforementioned three ways to let me know what you think the next poll question should be. Thanks for the opinion!

P.S. I promise to write everyone who e-mails me. Although I don't know how much of an incentive that's going to be.



Feeling lucky? Choose an Entry At RANDOM! Yes. Random. Randomosity is cool...come on, you know you want to... Well, if you don't subscribe to peer pressure, then just go Back or Forward with the Dragons below:

Read the Previous Entry by Clicking On This Dragon Read the Next Entry by Clicking On *This* Dragon...I promise they don't bite.

Note: This is just a temporary measure so people can still get to some of these places, until I can do something, like kill HostedScripts.

Read Older Rants / Take the Current Poll / Visit the Polls Page / Sign The *NEW* Message Board

Go to the Lost & Confused Home (there's a home? it's not lost?)
Prev | List | Random | Next Powered by RingSurf!

Join The Cavorting Revolution!

And I like it that way.


ENTER YOUR RANT OR QUESTIONS, FILL IN THE BLANKS, & PRESS SEND
This is another shameless plea for attention & feedback, yes, again.This goes someplace.  Where?  Click it and see.  I thought it was self-explanitory myself.
No idea where this tag is going to show up.Or this one.Look!  Another mystery tag!
This will take you to some directory...again, self-explanitory buttons.
Umm...again, this goes someplace.

Send a Message to Someone Other Than Me Who Has ICQ
Search Something or other hereI have no Idea where This will be.  Great Googaly Moogaly!
What?  Not another one!
This site is powered by the ICQ Web Pager Panel � 1999 ICQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.
I'm going to add some stuff before you get to the fancy stuff they put in here automatically. For anyone who chooses to page me, I will respond to your page via e-mail as soon as possible. However, for faster service, please include your ICQ, MSN Instant Messanger, or AIM number, name, or whatever is appropriate. This will guarantee you faster response, since I'm much better at responding to instant messangers than I am to e-mails. Now you can read all the other stuff that was originally here. You can ICQ-Page the owner of this web page as well as other users right from here with no additional software. Your messagewill be instantly delivered. If the user is online, the message will popup on her screen, if the user is offline it will be stored and forwarded to him/her as soon as she connects to the internet. Installing the ICQ client will enable you to know if your friends are online and communicate directly with them.
Use of the ICQ Web Pager Panel is subject to Terms of Service

More insanity...do you dare? Go on...be a voyeur someplace else Spread the rantings to others...I command it! Become subject to the Voyeuristic tendancies of others