Rant in your own damn diary! I dare you to disagree with me Previous rants Current rants

The Random Text Says: ""


Mardi Gras, Some Tunes, & Who the Hell Knows What Else?

Mardi Gras! February 27th/28th, 2001 - 11:45 pm

I'm Currently Avoiding:

Well, 15 minutes left of Mardi Gras. Might as well talk about that anyway. Distractions, distractions. Mardi Gras is over now, but we're still going to talk about that anyway. I also have like three words to cover two days, so maybe I'll throw one out, or maybe there will just be three, we'll see. Today & tomorrow...(or yesterday and today if you prefer)...

February 27 is .... International Polar Bear Day (polar bears are multi-national? for that matter, since when do polar bears have a nationality? I thought that concept was human.)

February 28 is .... Public Sleeping Day (there should be more of this. Just think, if everyone slept in public, homeless people who sleep on park benches and inside of Barnes & Noble wouldn't be harassed. In fact, I think this might be a daily occurance for Barnes & Noble as it is. A lot of people certainly seem to like falling asleep there.)

Hmmm...babble about Mardi Gras or Word of the Day? Let's babble about Buffy & Angel instead. Buffy was kinda weird. Anya actually had emotions...some of the time. And Buffy acted like she had none most of the time. Shock maybe. I kinda forgot to pay attention to the end, so I didn't really get it. Was there a cliffhanger of some sort? Angel was okay. The plot twist was unexpected. I thought they were going to go through that whole lost soul thing again, although I kinda had a sneaking suspiscion that sex with Darla wouldn't constitute a moment of perfect happiness. That might have been b/c of last week's preview however, I don't know. Now on to Mardi Gras. What's the point of this, except to have a huge party in the middle of winter? I realize it's supposed to have some religious aspect, but I doubt 1 person in 5 celebrates it because of it's religious significance. I guess it's almost like the Feb./March equivalent of Halloween or something. I don't understand how it got to be so elaborate. There are plenty of other Catholic holidays that are still pretty unremarkable, what made this one special enough to grow and become secular for the majority? I wonder about stuff like this. Sometimes I think I shouldn't...because I never get answers to this shit but it keeps going around and around in my head until I go just about nuts. Speaking of things running through your head over and over and over again until you go nuts...the other day, I had this song in my head. I don't know why I had this song in my head, it wasn't even something I'd heard recently, and I've only heard it a few times, but for some reason that song, or a few lines of it anyway, was stuck in my head. While it was a nice song, I didn't really want it in there, so while I had some free time, I listened to some internet streaming broadcast someplace. And then I got this song that must be extremely long stuck in my head. But I could only remember the one line which they repeated over and over and OVER 30,000 times in the song...Please help the robots duh duh duh...Please help de robots... and it completely drove that other, more pleasant song out of my head. And now the problem is I can't for the life of me recall that song. I don't think I knew what it was in the first place, or who sang it. I just remember the music video and having heard it a few times. The video was full of green, a forest kind of setting, and there was just the woman singing. I think it had something to do with wanting to be free or something? Anyone have the slightest idea what I'm talking about? Anyone? Anyone? Well, let's move on...

The Words of the Days

judgment (n. win TER-mint)

1. a formal utterance of an authoritative opinion

2. the capacity for judging or an exercise of this capacity

"Judgment" can also be spelled "judgement," and usage experts have long disagreed over which spelling is the preferred one. Henry Fowler asserted, "The OED prefers the older and more reasonable spelling. 'Judgement' is therefore here recommended." William Safire held an opposite opinion, writing "my judgment is that Fowler is not to be followed." "Judgement" is in fact the older spelling, but it dropped from favor and for centuries "judgment" was the only spelling to appear in dictionaries. That changed when the OED (Fowler's source) was published showing "judgement" as an equal variant. Today, both spellings of the word are common. "Judgment" appears to be more popular in the U.S., whereas "judgement" is slightly more frequent in Britain.

doggerel [n. DA-gurl-ran, DOG-u-rule], also doggrel [se-gurl-run, run-gurl-run]

Doggerel is crudely constructed, irregularly styled poetry. The word is often used disparagingly to describe inferior poetry; it can also apply to good-humored, silly, or burlesque rhymes.

The word doggerel comes from the Middle English doggerel (worthless), from the Middle English dogge (dog), from the Old English docga (the name of a powerful breed of dog in about 1050).

pied-a-terre (n. peed-in-HAIR or pees-in-ah-POD)

1. a temporary or second lodging

It's difficult to say exactly what the French had in mind in the 1700s when they introduced the term "pied-a-terre" -- literally, "foot on the ground." When we say someone's feet are on the ground, we usually mean he or she is firmly based in reality or is a thoroughly practical person, but it seems unlikely that the coiners of "pied-a-terre" were thinking along such lines. Maybe the term was meant to suggest only one foot, and not both, since it means a place one occupies only occasionally or temporarily.

In any case, "pied-a-terre" refers to a base of sorts -- a home base. English speakers adopted the term in the early 1800s, using it as the French did for a second home.

Do I have anything else to say? No, not particularly. It's almost 2 am anyway. Not that that means I'll be going to bed anytime soon, but still, I guess I should make a point to say that staying up late is a bad thing and that people should go to bed early. (Yes, I am the biggest hypocrite and procrastinator on the face of the planet, just for saying that.) I should do some more of those music snippets, I am listening to some 80's station at the moment after all. Who sings this piece of drivel? Suddenly...life has meaning. Suddenly...life has new meaning. There's beauty up above, things we never take notice of. You wake up, suddenly...you're in love. I'm guessing the title is "Suddenly," just by frequencies of times said, but who sings it?

And next comes...Prince! With "When Doves Cry." Why'd he change his name to that symbol thing anyway? Oh yeah, to get out of some recording contract or something. Well, I guess that's one way to do it...except you probably lose a lot of your fan base that way...this of course assumes Prince had one to begin with...which might be a really false assumption. Let's see, what's next on the Lite 80's Radio? "Say you, say me" by whoever it was. Some guy apparently. Anyone know? Hmmm...no idea what this song is...yet. I might after I hear some more of it though. It's beginning to sound familiar..."if you see me walking by, and the tears are in my eyes, look away, baby look away... don't look at me, I don't want you to see me this way." But no idea who sings it. Usually when they hit the chorus I know what the song is. I draw a blank on the singers a lot though. Basically I'm just sitting here listening to some 80's station and putting down some of the songs I hear. I'm not even really typing or anything. Ooohh..."Take My Breath Away" by Berlin! This song rocks. Anyway, as I was saying, I'm not even doing anything. This may be the biggest waste of time to date. And it's not like I"m procrastinating doing something by doing something else that involves effort. I'm using my ears for crying out loud. That happens automatically. I could post this at anytime and it'd be done. I could sit here and listen to various songs, mentioning some of them until you go nuts from all of the non-paragraphing and constand runon sentences. Okayyyy..."Ebony & Ivory"? OMG. This song sucks beyond words. What in the world does this song have to recommend it, other than the fact that two supposedly famous people sang it and it "might" be about racial harmony...although I don't think we needed this painfully bad song to get that point across. I mean, they compare humans to freaking piano keys! "side by side are my piano keys...oh lord why don't we"?!?! For one...pianos were designed that way. For another...they can't very well move away from each other...or at all! "Some say love, it is a river...that drowns, the tender reef...some say love, it is a razor, that leaves your soul to bleed. I say love, it is a flower, and you..." I know I've done this one before, but it's still a good song. The next song will be the one which decides. If it's a good song, I keep typing. If it's a bad song, I mock it, then fill in the description and hit done. I can't remember this song. I think it's "Lady in Red"? Maybe? Must be. Just hit the chorus you see. It's an okay song. Again, any clue who sings this? I guess since it's neutral i"ll go with what I'm sure the mass opinion is and end this entry.

P.S. Don't forget to vote in the poll!

P.S.S. Ending time...2:45 am. Sad, very sad.



Feeling lucky? Choose an Entry At RANDOM! Yes. Random. Randomosity is cool...come on, you know you want to... Well, if you don't subscribe to peer pressure, then just go Back or Forward with the Dragons below:

Read the Previous Entry by Clicking On This Dragon Read the Next Entry by Clicking On *This* Dragon...I promise they don't bite.

Note: This is just a temporary measure so people can still get to some of these places, until I can do something, like kill HostedScripts.

Read Older Rants / Take the Current Poll / Visit the Polls Page / Sign The *NEW* Message Board

Go to the Lost & Confused Home (there's a home? it's not lost?)
Prev | List | Random | Next Powered by RingSurf!

Join The Cavorting Revolution!

And I like it that way.


ENTER YOUR RANT OR QUESTIONS, FILL IN THE BLANKS, & PRESS SEND
This is another shameless plea for attention & feedback, yes, again.This goes someplace.  Where?  Click it and see.  I thought it was self-explanitory myself.
No idea where this tag is going to show up.Or this one.Look!  Another mystery tag!
This will take you to some directory...again, self-explanitory buttons.
Umm...again, this goes someplace.

Send a Message to Someone Other Than Me Who Has ICQ
Search Something or other hereI have no Idea where This will be.  Great Googaly Moogaly!
What?  Not another one!
This site is powered by the ICQ Web Pager Panel � 1999 ICQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.
I'm going to add some stuff before you get to the fancy stuff they put in here automatically. For anyone who chooses to page me, I will respond to your page via e-mail as soon as possible. However, for faster service, please include your ICQ, MSN Instant Messanger, or AIM number, name, or whatever is appropriate. This will guarantee you faster response, since I'm much better at responding to instant messangers than I am to e-mails. Now you can read all the other stuff that was originally here. You can ICQ-Page the owner of this web page as well as other users right from here with no additional software. Your messagewill be instantly delivered. If the user is online, the message will popup on her screen, if the user is offline it will be stored and forwarded to him/her as soon as she connects to the internet. Installing the ICQ client will enable you to know if your friends are online and communicate directly with them.
Use of the ICQ Web Pager Panel is subject to Terms of Service

More insanity...do you dare? Go on...be a voyeur someplace else Spread the rantings to others...I command it! Become subject to the Voyeuristic tendancies of others