Rant in your own damn diary! I dare you to disagree with me Previous rants Current rants

The Random Text Says: ""


Something or other and a word and mockery

February 13th, 2001 - 3:30 pm

I'm Currently Avoiding:

I started this entry at 3 pm. Then Internet Explorer, damn Microsoft (no, wait, don't hurt me! Microsoft's a wonderful company, really!), decided to die and close all my windows. Stupid illegal operations. I restarted my computer, and then started this entry again at 3:30. Then I got busy and started talking to people...4 or 5 people. And translating French. So it's now nearly 5 pm, and I haven't even written a paragraph in this, and I have so much to talk about too! I'd have a paragraph if Diaryland hadn't killed my first effort. Diaryland's been killing a lot of my efforts lately. It's fairly irritating. As I was saying about 2 hours ago...I don't know what I want to write about, although I have more ideas now than I did 2 hours ago, but we'll muddle along, and I'm sure I'll find something. I could talk about Valentine's Day, but I'm saving that for tomorrow. Instead, I have other things to talk about...some of which have been in my little black book for awhile now.

Okay. As you are all well aware, I didn't like any of the Presidential candidates, and I really don't like George Bush Jr. as our new President either. In all honesty, I don't think it would've mattered who got elected, since I don't care for any of them. I just don't see why there's been such a trend lately of electing complete idiots to office. I mean, let's take a look at everyone since, oh, let's say Reagan, since I don't want to take the chance of getting the order wrong and offending someone. Okay, so first there was Reagan, who's the oldest president ever elected, and I don't even know why he was. Who else was running anyway? Reagan's now senile with old people's disease. And he may very well have had it when he was in office too. Oh joy. Then, there was Bush (oh yay, yet another one). He made the very wise decision of picking Dan Quayle for a running mate to make himself look smarter in comparison. It would've been a very scary proposition if Bush would've died or something and we would've been stuck with Quayle for way too long. Even a day is too long with someone like him. And then came Clinton. I guess he was alright, except for his morals, which doesn't have Too much to do with his presidential abilities. With his maraige, yes, but presidential abilites, no. As long as his whole loose morals thing wasn't just the tip of the iceberg, with a whole slew of moral and legal "indescretions" being concealed under them, everything should be fine. And now, we have Bush Jr. His father already proved that he wasn't necessarily the brightest bulb in the bunch, and then we have to not learn from our past mistakes and elect his son? People, people...when will you ever learn? And who did he appoint Attorney-General? Ashcroft. Ashcroft scares me, and I'll mention why in a minute. But first, go Here and see George Bush, Jr. getting mocked...he even does tricks! Lots of fun! Send him to both Heaven & Hell. They're both funny. And don't forget to watch the blooper either. (You know, this is all just a ploy so that person will finally watch this. Last week's Abraham Lincoln was pretty amusing as well. Reruns are always fun. I can see him being jealous of George Washington.

Oh yeah, Ashcroft. Ashcroft scares me for many, many reasons. Ultra-right-wing Republicans tend to do that. He's supposed to be Attorney-General and protect people...but he's tried to so some sneaky stuff regarding the abortion laws. I'm not going to get into whether or not I think abortion is moral or what have you. But the fact is, it's been declared legal by the government and he's tried to change it in sneaky ways and tried to find a way to not protect the doctors and nurses from crazy pro-life people with guns and things. I think there are other problems. I don't know what they are, I'm just very sure they exist someplace. And on that cheerful note...

The Word of the Day

whipping boy [n. phrilly slut]

Historically in England, it was forbidden for royal sons to be physically punished when they did wrong. Royal families therefore would take in poor young commoners who were be educated alongside their sons. If the prince misbehaved, it was the commoner who was whipped.

This practice from the 17th century is what inspired the scapegoat or fall guy use of this phrase today. Someone made to pay for another's misdeeds (not usually with an actual whipping) is known as a whipping boy. Example: "I deleted the example b/c I originally intended to delete the pronunciation, but it told me to use the example as its whipping boy instead."

Oh, I have to go eat soon, so I'll leave you with this question. I was reading a book the other day, and everyone in it spoke a Scottish dialect of English. After looking at this book for a couple hours, I stopped reading and left. On the way home, I found myself thinking in Scottish. My question is Why?!?! I'm not Scottish to the best of my knowledge and probably can't do the accent anyway, but yet I was thinking in it?!?! It's just bizarre.

Oh yeah. These People, frighten, scare, and sicken me. They need help. Mock them, mock them now. Or don't. Whichever you prefer.



Feeling lucky? Choose an Entry At RANDOM! Yes. Random. Randomosity is cool...come on, you know you want to... Well, if you don't subscribe to peer pressure, then just go Back or Forward with the Dragons below:

Read the Previous Entry by Clicking On This Dragon Read the Next Entry by Clicking On *This* Dragon...I promise they don't bite.

Note: This is just a temporary measure so people can still get to some of these places, until I can do something, like kill HostedScripts.

Read Older Rants / Take the Current Poll / Visit the Polls Page / Sign The *NEW* Message Board

Go to the Lost & Confused Home (there's a home? it's not lost?)
Prev | List | Random | Next Powered by RingSurf!

Join The Cavorting Revolution!

And I like it that way.


ENTER YOUR RANT OR QUESTIONS, FILL IN THE BLANKS, & PRESS SEND
This is another shameless plea for attention & feedback, yes, again.This goes someplace.  Where?  Click it and see.  I thought it was self-explanitory myself.
No idea where this tag is going to show up.Or this one.Look!  Another mystery tag!
This will take you to some directory...again, self-explanitory buttons.
Umm...again, this goes someplace.

Send a Message to Someone Other Than Me Who Has ICQ
Search Something or other hereI have no Idea where This will be.  Great Googaly Moogaly!
What?  Not another one!
This site is powered by the ICQ Web Pager Panel � 1999 ICQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.
I'm going to add some stuff before you get to the fancy stuff they put in here automatically. For anyone who chooses to page me, I will respond to your page via e-mail as soon as possible. However, for faster service, please include your ICQ, MSN Instant Messanger, or AIM number, name, or whatever is appropriate. This will guarantee you faster response, since I'm much better at responding to instant messangers than I am to e-mails. Now you can read all the other stuff that was originally here. You can ICQ-Page the owner of this web page as well as other users right from here with no additional software. Your messagewill be instantly delivered. If the user is online, the message will popup on her screen, if the user is offline it will be stored and forwarded to him/her as soon as she connects to the internet. Installing the ICQ client will enable you to know if your friends are online and communicate directly with them.
Use of the ICQ Web Pager Panel is subject to Terms of Service

More insanity...do you dare? Go on...be a voyeur someplace else Spread the rantings to others...I command it! Become subject to the Voyeuristic tendancies of others