Rant in your own damn diary! I dare you to disagree with me Previous rants Current rants

The Random Text Says: ""


The Moon, Otis Redding, & A Snippet

December 11th (sortof), 2000 - 6:45 pm

I'm Currently Avoiding:

Okay, so if it's 6:45 pm, it's not December 11th, it's December 10th, I realize...but I really don't care and I won't have the time to do this later, and I'm procrastinating anyway, so there! I shouldn't really, I'm not going to get any sleep as it is, but oh well. And there was something I was going to talk about in the last entry that I forgot, but then was reminded of the next day, and I don't really want to forget it again, so I almost have to do this now before my creativity dies a slow death.

What I wanted to talk about was the moon. I was walking home from work Friday, and I looked up at the moon, and it would've made a great picture. There's just something special about a full moon. Why is it supposed to make people crazy anyway? I actually like the full moon. And it's obviously been very influential historically, etc. After all, there are plenty of words that come from the Latin root of lune I think it is. Lunatic, lunacy, the French word for Monday...lundi, and I'm sure there are other words that derrive from the word for the moon, but I just don't know what they are. Why is the moon held responsible for going crazy and things of that nature anyway? And why the full moon in particular? I mean, there are all these...folk tales for lack of a better word, about people going crazy with the full moon and werewolves changing into beasts for the full moon...Where did they all come from?!? How did these things start? What are their origins? Personally, I find the moon, especially a full one, rather fascinating. There's something intriguing and mysterious about the moon. Maybe it's the fact that there is a side of the moon that we never see...the "Dark Side of the Moon" if you wish. It gives the moon a mysteriousness which is unparalleled thus far. It seems so close, the closest thing in the sky we can see at night, and yet there is a whole half of the moon which has never been seen, and which can't be seen. It gives the moon a sense of unreality...and it's very cool that way, even if it is very difficult to describe and I don't think I've done it adequately. I wonder if there will ever be colonies on the moon? You'd think with all the Sci-fi stuff that's been written on that premise there would be, wouldn't you? Anyway, something to think about hmmm? (I know I know...now I want you to think?!?! And here you thought the whole point was to just read my rants and laugh...now you actually have to think.) Oh yeah, the time's about 8 pm now...(no, it's Still not the 11th.)

The song of the day will be as a tribute to the person in the following news article. The song was pretty good too. Instead of the news, this is Today in History:

1967: Otis Redding killed in plane crash

Otis Redding, a soul-music singer from Georgia, recorded the

song "Dock of the Bay" in San Francisco on December 7, 1967. Three days later, on his way to a concert in Madison, Wisconsin, his plane crashed into an icy lake near the airport, killing Redding and four members of his backup band. "Dock of the Bay" went on to top national charts, and is now considered one of the classics of soul music. Only 26 when he died, Redding was already at the very top of

the black music market, and was just gaining nationwide popularity with white audiences as well.

More about Otis Redding:

Otis Redding

Song Snippet(It was on the radio, what can I say?): Look at them yoyos, that's the way you do it...money for nothing and chicks for free. That ain't working, that's the way you do it...custom kitchen, deliveries...we've got to move these, refridgerators, we've got to move these color TVs... (I forgot who sings this song? Oh yeah, I think I remember now.)



Feeling lucky? Choose an Entry At RANDOM! Yes. Random. Randomosity is cool...come on, you know you want to... Well, if you don't subscribe to peer pressure, then just go Back or Forward with the Dragons below:

Read the Previous Entry by Clicking On This Dragon Read the Next Entry by Clicking On *This* Dragon...I promise they don't bite.

Note: This is just a temporary measure so people can still get to some of these places, until I can do something, like kill HostedScripts.

Read Older Rants / Take the Current Poll / Visit the Polls Page / Sign The *NEW* Message Board

Go to the Lost & Confused Home (there's a home? it's not lost?)
Prev | List | Random | Next Powered by RingSurf!

Join The Cavorting Revolution!

And I like it that way.


ENTER YOUR RANT OR QUESTIONS, FILL IN THE BLANKS, & PRESS SEND
This is another shameless plea for attention & feedback, yes, again.This goes someplace.  Where?  Click it and see.  I thought it was self-explanitory myself.
No idea where this tag is going to show up.Or this one.Look!  Another mystery tag!
This will take you to some directory...again, self-explanitory buttons.
Umm...again, this goes someplace.

Send a Message to Someone Other Than Me Who Has ICQ
Search Something or other hereI have no Idea where This will be.  Great Googaly Moogaly!
What?  Not another one!
This site is powered by the ICQ Web Pager Panel � 1999 ICQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.
I'm going to add some stuff before you get to the fancy stuff they put in here automatically. For anyone who chooses to page me, I will respond to your page via e-mail as soon as possible. However, for faster service, please include your ICQ, MSN Instant Messanger, or AIM number, name, or whatever is appropriate. This will guarantee you faster response, since I'm much better at responding to instant messangers than I am to e-mails. Now you can read all the other stuff that was originally here. You can ICQ-Page the owner of this web page as well as other users right from here with no additional software. Your messagewill be instantly delivered. If the user is online, the message will popup on her screen, if the user is offline it will be stored and forwarded to him/her as soon as she connects to the internet. Installing the ICQ client will enable you to know if your friends are online and communicate directly with them.
Use of the ICQ Web Pager Panel is subject to Terms of Service

More insanity...do you dare? Go on...be a voyeur someplace else Spread the rantings to others...I command it! Become subject to the Voyeuristic tendancies of others