Rant in your own damn diary! I dare you to disagree with me Previous rants Current rants

The Random Text Says: ""


Time, Time, Time...See what's become of me...

November 14th, 2000 - 11 am?!?!

I'm Currently Avoiding:

Uh-oh...it's a Morning entry! Can't have one of those now can we? Maybe I'll just have to start this now and then finish it much later so that it's no longer morning and there is no longer the danger that I'll be so mean in this entry that everyone will stop reading my diary. Or maybe I'll write it anyway because I don't really care who does or does not read this, let alone who becomes offended by it. A few things occured to me yesterday that I wanted to talk about, and then there was some interesting news that I read that I wanted to discuss, and someone gave me an idea about a name, so this is promising to be a fairly long diary entry. Get over it or stop reading now.........

Glad to see you're still with us. Human nature is perverse...tell them to stop reading something and they'll keep reading just to see what was so horrible/shocking/etc. that you don't want them to read. And if they find out that it was just they wanted to spare you the boredom of another 100 pages or so of dull material, they feel cheated because they were expecting something interesting when you TOLD them to just stop now. Of course, that isn't the case here, the rest of this is Supposed to be interesting and I just wanted to trick everyone into reading it and a few dumb bunnies into actually taking me at my word and stop reading. Now on to the interesting/philosophical stuff((since when is philosophy interesting?(It isn't, but this is My philosophy, which is another thing entirely)(oh, okay...continue rambling then)(Thank you, I will)))

Due to the fact that my watch battery died Saturday night, I have come to realize that the entire human race, or maybe this just applies to Americans(I can't judge the human race as a whole since I don't know how it works elsewhere, although I do it anyway sometimes when I feel like it, I just don't want to do that today)...anyway, Americans are slaves to time and clocks. Watches and clocks are everywhere you turn. Almost everyone has a watch of some sort, from the plain and simple up to the watch of wonders, and if by some random circumstance you Don't have a watch, you're constantly asking others of the time, or you're perpetually late and people regard you as rather irritating for either being late or for constantly asking the time and they wonder why you can't get a watch. And clocks, clocks are everywhere too...from individual homes(I have 3 in this room alone, not counting my watch, but including my computer), to outside of banks and big outdoor clocks, to school clocks that are put in the rooms to torture the students by how little time has passed(or how quickly, depending on their opinion of the class) and to remind teachers when they need to quit babbling incessantly and let their students go(obviously I'd better not be a teacher...the kids would never leave(muwahahaha)), and even in the backs of some churches to remind the minister/pastor/priest/rabbi/whathaveyou when it's time to cut their sermon short so that the patiently waiting congregation can go eat. Anyway...the point of this was Why is American Society as a whole so obsessed with time? Anybody got any answers? I don't, I have a few theories, but this entry is already going to be long enough so I won't share them. Other theories will be welcome and one may always e-mail them to me or post them on the message board.

Since yesterday was Monday, and the 13th...I was wondering why Friday the 13th is supposed to be such a bad day. Why isn't Monday the 13th worse? I mean, Mondays generally suck anyway, and 13 is supposed to be unlucky, so why isn't it worse? Is it because Friday is supposed to be a good day, and the 13th just cancels out the good part of it being Friday and just makes it suck unbelieveably by comparison? Why is it? Huh? Huh? Tell me, damnit! I want to know!

I think I'm going to do the name thing now. I went and looked up what my name means because it was a link in a friend's diary that I read on a regular basis(No, he doesn't get a link this time...I've already whored him enough as it is thank you very much and he's not getting whored again...not in this entry anyway)...and I thought it'd be interesting to reproduce it here. So here's the analysis of my first name:

Your first name of (Name omitted for personal reasons) has given you a responsible, expressive, inspirational, and friendly personality. Expression comes naturally to you and you are rarely at a loss for words; in fact, you have to put forth effort at times to curb an over-active tongue. Self-confidence has made it easy for you to meet people and you are well-liked for your spontaneous, happy ways. You sincerely like people and do not often experience loneliness; your work and home-life are likely filled with association. You enjoy music and could have a fine singing voice; however, the study could be somewhat difficult because you do not find it easy to apply yourself to concentrated study for long periods. In this respect, this name is not altogether constructive; it creates a somewhat scattering influence which makes it difficult for you to finish what you start. This name brings disappointments and emotional involvements through being too sympathetic and easily influenced. As a result of your active nature, you have an appetite for quick-energy foods, which you could consume to excess. Health weakness appear as skin conditions, or as ailments relative to the liver.

And now for what I think of this analysis. It's sort-of true. Responsible, expressive, I'll grant those. Inspirational, not that I know of...and as for friendly...well, I suppose that's a question of perspective. As for me not being able to shut up, I suppose that's true to some extent, just not generally with strangers or in large groups. Spontaneous, happy ways? Ummm...I don't think so? As for sincerely liking people and rarely alone...I don't think so works well for that too. The music and procrastinating parts are true though. As for too sympathetic and easily influenced...that's probably wrong too. No active nature is present, so they got that completely wrong. As for quick-energy foods that get consumed to excess...does that count chocolate? If it does, consider me cheerfully guilty.

And now the news:

I'll go with the older news first. The Italian bishops' daily newspaper Avvenire is quoting leading Roman Catholic theologian Rev. Massimo Salani saying that McDonald's hamburgers are "not Catholic," and that Italians must give up fast food because it represents an expression of the Protestant ethic. I just think this is hilarious. And since when do Italians like fast food anyway? I thought that was just an American thing?!?! The other thing I read is that Mr. Rogers is FINALLY going to go away from TV...his last "episode" is going to be next year, although knowing PBS they'll rerun 30 years of Mr. Roger's episodes for the next 3 decades or so. Mr. Rogers is really, Really scary. He creeps me out. I'm so glad he's finally going away. There's this one really big conspiracy involving the entire PBS network, including several characters from their children's shows, a couple candy companies, Hallmark, and Tristram Shandy, but I'm not going to get into that right now. This entry's already long enough, so I'll just add on the Bonus Song of the Day and call it good.

Song of the Day: "Hazy Shade of Winter" by the Bangles(there's also a version by Simon & Garfunkel, but I like this version better for unspecified reasons). And the Bonus Song of the Day is: "The House of the Rising Sun" by The Animals. It has absolutely nothing to do with anything, but I couldn't think of anything else that would be relevent, or anything else at all actually.

P.S.: Still wondering if anyone knows anything about The Scandisk Issue...an answer would be nice.



Feeling lucky? Choose an Entry At RANDOM! Yes. Random. Randomosity is cool...come on, you know you want to... Well, if you don't subscribe to peer pressure, then just go Back or Forward with the Dragons below:

Read the Previous Entry by Clicking On This Dragon Read the Next Entry by Clicking On *This* Dragon...I promise they don't bite.

Note: This is just a temporary measure so people can still get to some of these places, until I can do something, like kill HostedScripts.

Read Older Rants / Take the Current Poll / Visit the Polls Page / Sign The *NEW* Message Board

Go to the Lost & Confused Home (there's a home? it's not lost?)
Prev | List | Random | Next Powered by RingSurf!

Join The Cavorting Revolution!

And I like it that way.


ENTER YOUR RANT OR QUESTIONS, FILL IN THE BLANKS, & PRESS SEND
This is another shameless plea for attention & feedback, yes, again.This goes someplace.  Where?  Click it and see.  I thought it was self-explanitory myself.
No idea where this tag is going to show up.Or this one.Look!  Another mystery tag!
This will take you to some directory...again, self-explanitory buttons.
Umm...again, this goes someplace.

Send a Message to Someone Other Than Me Who Has ICQ
Search Something or other hereI have no Idea where This will be.  Great Googaly Moogaly!
What?  Not another one!
This site is powered by the ICQ Web Pager Panel � 1999 ICQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.
I'm going to add some stuff before you get to the fancy stuff they put in here automatically. For anyone who chooses to page me, I will respond to your page via e-mail as soon as possible. However, for faster service, please include your ICQ, MSN Instant Messanger, or AIM number, name, or whatever is appropriate. This will guarantee you faster response, since I'm much better at responding to instant messangers than I am to e-mails. Now you can read all the other stuff that was originally here. You can ICQ-Page the owner of this web page as well as other users right from here with no additional software. Your messagewill be instantly delivered. If the user is online, the message will popup on her screen, if the user is offline it will be stored and forwarded to him/her as soon as she connects to the internet. Installing the ICQ client will enable you to know if your friends are online and communicate directly with them.
Use of the ICQ Web Pager Panel is subject to Terms of Service

More insanity...do you dare? Go on...be a voyeur someplace else Spread the rantings to others...I command it! Become subject to the Voyeuristic tendancies of others